The Ponies


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
August 31st 2008
Published: August 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Haha...well it was a Saturday morning and with no plans on the horizon it was a spontaneous decision to jump on the subway and make my way to the races. I had not been there before, because of the large distance from my place, but this day was different. As always, the subway provides interesting scenarios. Usually, I have 10-12 starring contests with the local residents, of which I usually win 90%...lol. However, this day I was in for a little spiritual cleansing. I was approached by a Korean man who spoke some English and usually Korean people just want to practice speaking with a native speaker so I was okay with that. Upon talking with him for 5 minutes or so he mentioned that he was heavily Christian and then he asked me what I believe in. As I tried to explain to him waht my thoughts were I could see he wasn't overly impressed so he decided to share some trials and tribulations of Jesus Christ. Ten minutes of him talking and me nodding led me to exit the subway a few stops short of my destination. The fact that I was going to gamble was quite unsettling for this man. It's funny, I don't usually talk to people on the subway and the time I do, I get a cleansing.

Regardless, I was on my way. I did finally make it to the track and the place is enormous. It was bigger than any racing venue in Canada and there were no slot machines or anything, just pure horse racing. They had a small section that was dedicated to ex-pats but I was the only one in there. I ended up breaking even, won a few, lost a few but got some cool pics.

I am starting to feel a bit better that the summer is ending because the humidity here has been trecherous and being from Canada I suppose I am biased to the winter season.

Thats about it for now, I am being lazy and do not want to write anymore, so I'll be back again.

cheers


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



4th September 2008

Praise the Lord!
.... you have been healed!! It's about bloody time, lol. That's a good story, I enjoyed it. The pics look fantastic!! Missin' ya cuz, xoxo

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb