Winter is Here!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
November 22nd 2007
Published: November 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, it's nearing the end of November now. We've had two tiny snow falls here in Seoul. It would be nice if there was some snow for Christmas, so here's hoping!

This School year is coming to a close. One more month of school and two weeks of winter camp at my own school, and I will be finished this contract. Brendan and I have decided to stay ONE more year. And honestly I think that's all I could take. I truly enjoy my time here and I've learned so much and had a lot of personal growth due to being here, but I could never actually live here and call this my home.
You have your fair share of the most generous people ever and then the rest who are complete dink heads who are pushy, rude and racist. So one day you are praising Korea about how wonderful the people are and the next you want to rip someones head off (not literally.. just a figure of speech of course😊 ).

Brendan, and our good friends, Chris and Jimmy and I went to a Temple Stay 2 weekends ago which was truly a wonderful experience! We dress as monks, eat like monks, chanted (well tried) like monks and bowed a hundred times over like monks. We were taught the basics of meditating... gosh it's hard! We arrived at the Temple on Saturday afternoon after a 2 hour bus ride out into the country, and left Sunday afternoon refreshed with positive outlooks and then dropped back in to crazy, pushy Seoul City.
Took some photos (see below)

I'm still trying to be a rock star😊 praticing my guitar as much as I remember... I'm absent minded when it comes to practicing things. I'm presently learning "Stay" by Lisa Lobe. Hopefully I'll have it perfect by the time I come for a short visit home in February. I'm still learning Korean... s-l-o-w-l-y... that darn practicing again! I meet up with a korean teacher 3 times a week during our lunch and my reading is much quicker now and she tells me my pronounciation is very good, but really I have no idea.

Sentences of the day:
Ah don il eul hai yo = What do you do (work)?
Ah dee ai sah il hey yo = where do you work?
I can count numbers and understand prices now so I don't have to guess how much things are and just hand over a stack of bills and hope I don't get ripped off anymore.

ohh how lovely! I'm at school right now and a few Home Ec students just brought me a hamburger they just made in class and it came with a card!... here's an example when I feel all warm and fuzzy about Korea.

I'm really looking forward to Christmas! We bought a 6 foot fake tree and we'll be decorating it this weekend ( I need it as a prop for xmas photos for a calender we're putting together for the 'rents!). I'll even play some xmas tunes while decorating!!! It's only one month away!!! woot woot!

Greg, Jimmy, Bren and I are getting together this Friday to start planning for our trip to Tokyo and Nagano this coming January. Fun Fun!!!! We're really looking forward to that!!!

Well that's all for now...I've got kids peeking through my class window wanting to come in to my warm class room.... the school is FREEZING, only the classrooms and offices have heating. You need to put your jacket on in the hallways and the bathrooms. It's not fun to go pee, I can tell ya that much!
Hope all is well with everyone!!!!!
Until next time!!!
Jessie



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

The TempleThe Temple
The Temple

We did 108 full bows at 4am in here
WowsersWowsers
Wowsers

Bren getting his prescription read to get new glasses
Easy?Easy?
Easy?

Stencilled on a wall in Hongdae


22nd November 2007

This newsy Blog will hold me until February!!!
What a newsy blog, to go along with our Sunday Web Cam "visits"! Sooooo looking forward to your extremely short visit in February....but at least I will be able to actually give you an real hug in person. Hopefully your "Box of Christmas" will arrive in time for your Christmas celebrations....going by boat is not the fastest mode of transportation... but being less than half the $300 Air Shipping costs, that was a no brainer. Keep those blogs coming. Everyone loves to read them!!! Love Mom
5th December 2007

Great to hear from you
Hi Jess, great to hear from you, I sure love to hear from you and see your great pictures, love the nature shots. It will wonderful to see you when you get home even if it is for a minute...keep the blogs coming and have a great Christmas!!

Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb