It's Been a While


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
June 11th 2007
Published: June 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone!
It's been a while since I wrote, so I thought that I should take the time to update you all on what's been going on over here.
First of all we've been told about the summer camp we have to do. Which is 19 days... straight... including weekends (Sat & Sun) *grumble*... 12 hour days (8:30am to 9pm). Wow, I'm still worked up about it and I've know for over a week now. There were 3 camps to choose from, the other two are over nights, so they are 11 days. But due to my precious little one ( Koah) there was no way I was going to board her up for that amount of time especially since we'll have holidays the 2 following weeks after camp where she will have to spend her time in a Pet "Hotel" as they call them here. Upside to the camp I chose.... we get a extra 1.3 million won... which honestly after calculating is NOT enough. But with the extra money we'll not have to worry about our summer holidays.

We decided to go to the Philippines. We haven't booked our tickets yet, but are in the process of
Dan in my Beginner's ClassDan in my Beginner's ClassDan in my Beginner's Class

First experience with photoshoots
speaking with a travel agent. We'll be flying into Boracay (famous for it's world famous beaches) and make our way to Bohol (chocolate mountains and adorable monkeys) in 12 days time.

We made a trip to the DMZ on a long weekend in May. A group of us went for a day trip. Very interesting and educational. We're so close to North Korea and people seem to forget that the people there have absolutely no freedom and are treated so poorly by their governent. It was a reminder worth having.

Bren and I found a challenging mountain to climb just outside of Seoul. Bukhansan is about an hour subway ride from our place. We went yesterday, we know for next time to bring double the water and to put the bottles in the freezer before. We were feeling the heat and the climb in the end. The view was AWESOME but wished I felt physically better when I got to the top😊 I was experiencing heat stroke... note to self: wear a hat next time... this morning I woke up thinking I may throw up and took a sick day. I had a 4 hour nap and feel
At the DMZAt the DMZAt the DMZ

The boys being great sports while i take their picture
a bit better.
We'll go back to the mountain next week but will be more prepared.

I completed a TESOL course via corresponce. I just mailed in my test a few weeks ago and am waiting in receiving my certificate for completing 100 hours. This certificate will allow me to receive a raise in my salary at my school.

At the beginning on May I took a Beginner's Photography class, which was a month long, to help me learn more about my new camera. I had two teachers, both who are professional photographers from Europe ( Italy and France). I enjoyed myself so much that I took the High Beginners's class this month. We are learning about lighting and filters for photoshoots as well as document shots. Last class we took turns being the model and photographers and all the students were able to take some great shots with professional lighting and experience what it's like being in the spot light. Found a new passion with photography. There's a few more class levels after the class I'm taking but there's a break do to the summer and classes will resume in September.
I actually have class tonight and am hoping I'll be feeling better by this evening so I can attend.

Bren and I are still really enjoying ourselves, time goes by quite quickly when we're here, summer is already here. I hope everyone is doing well and have wonderful relaxing plans for the summer.

I'll leave you with some pictures of everything I mentioned above😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



12th June 2007

KOREA: ROUND TWO...
Hey Jessica, Wow! What a newsie blog!!! Glad to see you're "stretching" those brain cells in so many directions over there this year. It's good to hear that you are keeping yourself even busier, if that is possible, making the most of your second year in Korea. Talk to you Sunday on Web Cam! Love Mom PS Get a hat for your NEXT hike!!!!
12th June 2007

Beware of B-C-C
Yes! Follow your mom's advice... wear a hat... and use sunblock if you don't want to get B-C-C (baso-cellular carcinoma) on that cute nose of yours! :>) Keep enjoying yourself!

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0797s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb