rebel


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Itaewon
April 5th 2009
Published: April 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I saw this ring and it was engraved with the word “rebel”.
I wear it and look at it often wondering what it means.
Go against the grain. Do something different. Make a change.

Lauryn Hill has a song about rebel...
Rebel, rebel, rebel, rebel, rebel
Repent, the day is far too spent, rebel... rebel!
Wake up and rebel
We must destroy in order to rebuild
Wake up, you might as well
Oh are you satisfied
Rebel... ohhh rebel
Why don't you rebel?

I agree…We must destroy in order to rebuild. Even ourselves. Sometimes when we reach the bottom that’s when we know it’s time for change. When there’s nowhere else to go but up. To some point, I feel like that’s where I am right now. Doing things I shouldn't, rebelling. I’ve been hiding out in Korea. Trying to avoid “real life” or getting started. I’ve been scared. So scared of everything. People, relationships, reality, school, starting a career. I don’t know why, but I was. But I don’t want to be scared anymore. There’s this quote…

"For a long time it seemed to me that life was about to begin-real life. But there was always some obstacle in the way, something to be gotten through first, some unfinished business, time still to be served, a debt to be paid. At last it dawned on me that these obstacles were my life. This perspective has helped me to see there is no way to happiness. Happiness is the way. So treasure every moment you have and remember that times waits for no one. Happiness is a journey, not a destination…" - Souza

Ready, set, go…

I’m applying to grad school. For real this time. Hopefully I’ll be back in the states in the fall. Even though times are rough there, I can’t keep living here just to avoid it there. See you in the fall!

One last thought...

What is better?

1. Experiencing something so good at the risk of knowing that it may not be forever then living with the absence of it.
2. Not experiencing it and never having to know what it was like or having to live with the absence of it.

"It’s better to have loved and lost then to never have loved at all." Do you agree?

Leave your comments below. Seriously. I'm curious.


Advertisement



6th April 2009

experience it all, regret nothing.
Hey susan, you said it in your quote, happiness is a journey, not a destination. And your journey has already begun. don't downplay the role or effect Korea has had on your life, I'm sure it has taught you a great deal of lessons. We all move at different paces, so I don't think you were hiding out, you've been experiencing another world, a new side to life, and for that I applaud you. We'll see you back here in the fall, when you're ready to come back. It's better to have loved and lost. -kj
6th April 2009

fear by jazmine sullivan
I'm scared to try cuz I'm scared to fail I'm scared to die cuz I'm scared of hell I'm scared to kiss scared to hug I'm scared of sex cuz I'm scared to touch I'm scared to look cuz I'm scared to see I'm scared of you cuz I'm scared of me I'm scared to fly cuz I'm scared to crash I'm scared to move on so I live in the past I'm scared to fight cuz I'm scared to bleed I'm scared of love cuz I'm scared he'll live I'm scared of drugs I'm scared to drink I'm scared to swim cuz I'm scared to sink I'm scared to learn cuz I'm scared of truth Don't wanna gain weight cuz I'm scared of food I'm scared to think that the label dropped me I'm scared to think of my album floppin This may sound silly but it's true So don't pretend it aint you too We all afraid of something here Cuz yu aint human with out fear I'm scared to start cuz I'm scared I'll quit I'm scared that people wont like my shit I'm scared of fame and paparatzi Rumors startin and people watching Scared to grow up cuz I'm scared to grow old Scared of the dark and beign alone I'm scared of war I'm scared of jail Scared to share a secret cuz I'm scared you'll tell This may sound silly but it's true So don't pretend it aint you too We all afraid of something here Cuz yu aint human with out fear

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb