Yeosu


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeollanam-do » Yeosu
May 22nd 2010
Published: May 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Buddha's Birthday! Friday was a holiday-no work!! Lindsey and I decided to head out of town with a group of English-speaking activities group. Although we already prefer to hang with Koreans, I have no idea how to get around on my own (yet!). Friday morning, we headed to the train station and bought a ticket to Yeosu. On the platform we met up with the other three peeps going on the trip. As soon as I stepped off the train, I could smell and feel the ocean. I love that feeling!

Yeosu is a small city with over 300 islands surrounding it. We visited two of the islands while there. It took us awhile to find the right bus. I am getting used to Korean driving-crazy! The bus driver was acting like Mario Andretti around the mountains. Dolson Island was a cool little island with lots of seafood. Still getting used to the fishy smell of Korea. We headed up the mountain for some hiking. On the way up to the temple, I got a few glimpses of how beautiful it was going to be! The temple was decorated with lanterns for Buddha's birthday. A monk was saying her prayers. When she got up, I smiled at her. She rewarded me with a conversation (perfect English) and a present-a paper flower. She even invited me to lunch, but we had already eaten. The view was amazing but this conversation was the highlight of the trip. The climb up the mountain was intense with a backpack, but well worth all the hard work. The view from the very top was breath taking. It was not a well-beaten path, so we had the top to ourselves. I could have stayed there for hours, but the sun would've gotten the best of me. On the way down the mountain, I got a grape slushie for refreshment.

Almost all restaurants in Korea have tables that are low to the ground. You sit on the floor while eating and have to take your shoes off at the door. It has become pretty comfortable. After dinner, we went to a Jjimjilbang. This is a public bath house. I felt a little uncomfortable getting naked and hanging out in a spa with a bunch of other naked women, but it is part of Korean culture. I'm glad I didn't let my own issues ruin this experience!
Buddha's Birthday decorationsBuddha's Birthday decorationsBuddha's Birthday decorations

Lamps, lamps everywhere!
After a few minutes, I realized no one cared what anyone looked like. There were three or four different types of baths and two saunas. It was interesting to watch grandmothers wash daughters backs. My skin felt amazing the next day. After leaving the bath portion, I put some pajamas they provide for you on. They look like a prison jump suit except they are shorts. In the common area, there were dry saunas which all genders could hang out in. After a few hours of hanging out, it was time to grab a mat and go to sleep. Nothing like sleeping on concrete next to Korean families. I had a hard time sleeping on the floor, but I am starting to get used to the firmness of everything they sleep on. My apartment bed is a board! I woke up to a lady sleeping half on my mat because her son had taken over hers. Kind of funny-sorry no cameras allowed at the jjimjibang!

In the morning, we headed to Odondgo Island despite the rain. It was cold, but we walked across the breakaway regardless. Koreans do not eat "breakfast" food, so we had a pork and cheese cutlet with rice for breakfast. This island is very small with a light house observatory and a few scenic areas. We checked out the Cave of Dragon before heading to the train station. Great weekend-and I still get to rest for a day before heading to work!!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

I want to be a monk!I want to be a monk!
I want to be a monk!

Spectacular views


27th May 2010

Amazing Photos
Hey girlie - What great pics of your trip - thank you for sharing. How awesome is it to add to your travel blog after a few years of being static in phoenix. Love ya!
1st June 2010

Awesome!!
Hello! I'm Korean student. I'm surfing the Internet and see your korea travel by any chance. I didn't visit Yeosu even though I'm Korean!! How did you go to Yeosu? By train? I think it is really hard to you. Most Korean are scared of speaking English include me..ㅜㅜ What did you eat? I hope you eat much delicious food in Korea. I think Yeosu is very beautiful province. I want to go there someday.
22nd July 2010

A few questions about Yeosu
Hello there ~ I stumbled onto your blog while searching for hostels in Yeosu. I am currently teaching English in South Korea as well and have been enjoying exploring the many gorgeous cities and regions which make Korea so incredible. Next week my school is going on vacation and I have been planning a trip to Yeosu. I am very excited to go but have been having some problems finding information on places to stay outside of the "tourist hotels". I was wondering if you had any advice on places to stay (or not stay) since you were there so recently. Any info would be incredibly helpful. Thank you so much ^^
25th July 2010

We stayed at a jjimjilbang. It cost $7 for the night and was a unique experience. I don't think I could do it for more than one night as it was extremely hot. I didn't plan the trip, so I don't have a lot to offer for advice. If you join the central hiking meetup.com group, the leader Heather might be able to help you! Hope you enjoy Yeosu :)

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb