Jeju Island


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeju
July 24th 2010
Published: July 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I took the overnight ferry from Busan to Jeju Island, I had made the reservation earlier in the week and paid when I arrived for my ferry. When I finished paying I moved to the side so this pushy little old lady behind me could get on with her business. I put my change in my wallet and stood there for a minute feeling like I forgot something. When the lady at the counter began dealing with the old lady I decided it was nothing and took a seat to wait for the ferry. An hour later it was about time to board the boat and I realized that I never actually got my ticket. I went back to the same lady at the counter to tell her she never gave me my ticket and she acted like I needed to pay again. I explained the situation again and she brought someone over who spoke better English. The lady acted like she didn't remember me, I was thinking that I was the only white person here and more than likely the only conversation that you have had today in English. After the new employee tried to charge me for another ticket and asking why I didn't have a receipt to prove that I paid for the ticket. I realized my situation sounded stupid, but eventually I got my ticket and made my way to the boat. My room smelled like a mechanic's garage, but it did the job, it was probably punishment for causing the workers trouble.

Jeju Island was very beautiful place although it felt like the sun was inches from your face the entire time. I only had two nights here because of how the ferries ran over to the island so it was the first time in a long time that I woke up early and went to bed early just so I would be able to do everything that I wanted. The beaches around the island looked amazing and there were plenty of areas to walk around to see the island and the effects of the volcanic eruption. I did most the tourist things around the island from Sunrise Peak, Manjanggul Cave, Mt. Hallasan, Hallim Park, multiple waterfalls, and some stone garden. Unfortunately Sunrise Peak was foggy once you got up to the place and you could not see 15ft in front of you. The Manganggul Cave was a break from the heat and almost too cold, again it was so dark you really couldn't see anything. Hallim Park was probably the best thing on the island, it was just a collection of all the island attractions made for the lazy so I fit in quite well. The island also has Hareubang, a stone carving similar to those on Easter Island. It was the only reason I went to the stone garden was because I thought they had original statues, but I was horribly misinformed. The stone garden was the biggest rip off on the entire island that is unless you wanted to see lava rock carvings of people going to the bathroom. I don't think I ever did see an original statue, but I saw a lot of replicas.

The way back to Busan went better in the fact that I remembered to get my ticket when I paid, but my room still smelled like a mechanic's garage.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb