Cheju-don't, no it's: Cheju-do


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeju
December 28th 2008
Published: December 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I made it into Jeju yesterday morning after a very easy experience in Seoul's domestic airport Gimpo. I was picked up by Max a Korean student working as the camp driver and morning work out guru. He's a tae kwon do major at school and apparently knows a couple things about kicking ass. I was greeted by smiling faces from the camp staff at Jeju tourism college before Max showed me the dinning hall where I was going to eat for the next month. At a far table a group of fellow teachers ate kimchi, I approached and found that of the four people three were from LA one and even more narrowed one from Echo Park.

I filled up one kimchi and found my room. A nice dorm room all to myself on the fourth floor of a dreary building. I settled myself as other teachers arrived, a few new zealanders, plenty of west coasters and a couple canadians. And finally our go-to guy Huggy appeared, a nice korean canadian with a sly sense of humor. He would be our boss and over the next four hours or so he prepared us for our up coming job.
The kids arrive in one hour from the time I am writting this. Actually it's time for more kimchi.

Here are some photos of other teachers and our night out getting to know our dorm mates the night before the storm


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



31st December 2008

re:
very nice, sir. watch out for that huggy, he'll sneak up on you. watch the soju, that stuff is sneaky too. enjoy the food :)

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1169s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb