Flying into Tomorrow


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
January 20th 2011
Published: January 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm in the plane, and I'm not sure if it is January 19th or the 20th anymore, I think I'm somewhere in between! I just watched the sun rise over the mountains of Russia. A pink light so gently kissed only the top of the mountains - all covered in snow. I can see rivers snaking through the ranges iced over and layered with powdery snow. I have the sweetest couple sitting next to me - she is so helpful and caring! They reassured me to feel free to use the washroom whenever I need -- even gave me her friend's homemade cookie tart from the row behind us! Wish I could explain what is out my window. We have had two meals on the plane so far and one snack. The first meal came with instructions that we unfortunately didn't see until after the meal! It was a noodle soup with mushrooms, veggies and seaweed broth. It also came with white sticky rice ,sesame oil and my own tube of red chili pepper sauce-- I thought about mom when I poured it on! Also real utensils! I managed to mostly figure out how to eat it mostly because of my helpful neighbor. They passed out white and red wine - a small glass (real glass) of red wine was lovely! I watched Eat, Pray, Love (which I had been wanting to see for a while now!) and honestly didn't like it much - the book showed her internal struggle much better which gave me much more empathy to read with. After the meal I took some Advil pm and put on some "Relax" music. I slept for a short time till they came with little sweet beef tortas (i know it kind of sounds gross, but so delicious!) Mmm... I started watching "The American" with my man George but I was SO bored! So I finally fell asleep for a good couple of hours. My neighbor woke me up for the next, much more continental meal of pasta. The hot green tea at the end of the meal was perfect! I could have drank a gallon!

It was hard watching people hug on the tv on the plane -- amazing how it has only been a few hours! It feels almost a bit bittersweet, as much as I would like to lean on his shoulder right now or run through the airport in Korea with him, i Almost feel satisfied just knowing that he is waiting on me... almost...

Am loving the slippers they gave us on the plane, and the toothbrush and paste that has left me with very fresh breath :-)

It doesn't feel like I'm going to be gone through April! I am really excited - the voracity in which I just ate that new and unusual soup was not entirely as a result of my hunger -- It quite literally embodied my first taste of culture and I am starving for more. Lights starting to go out- movie time or nap time...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb