Long last couple of weeks before holiday!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
January 6th 2009
Published: January 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Meeting a Korean CelebMeeting a Korean CelebMeeting a Korean Celeb

I forgot to mention that I met a retired Korean Celeb....really bad pic taken with my cellphone camera but had to take the snap shot to mark the occasion :-). We ate at his restaurant after a work function in December
Hi all!

Wow seems like keeping up a blog religiously is a little difficult, or maybe its just because I am a little slack!

I thought I best post a little update of what went on here is SK the last couple of weeks before I put up a massive entry and hordes of photos from my awesome holiday!

The last couple of weeks before my holiday were trying to say the least with more lows than highs if the truth be known. I think a culmination of exhaustion from a year without a holiday, screaming kindergarten kids, some co-teacher work admin, serious lack of any interesting events or activities and winter just got a little too much for me!

That being said the three weeks leading up to Christmas weren’t completely without any events. I managed to get locked out of the subway so couldn’t retrieve my bags after attending the Irish footballers year end function the one Saturday night so I spent the night in a Jimjilbang….interesting to say the least. For those unfamiliar, a Jimjilbang is a public sauna (Koreans are massive on this sort of thing). It’s a super up market warm-bathes (not
Suwon FortressSuwon FortressSuwon Fortress

One of the Suwon fortress gates
too sure that that comparison is a good one, illicits a rather dodgy image but no other way to explain it). Lucky at 3am there was only 1 lurka Korean woman in the sauna area so I could quite peacefully take a shower and a sauna without the crowds…. well so I thought till! I was peacefully sitting in the sauna when I looked up and met the stare of the loan lurka Korean woman staring at me from the next door sauna through the little window between the two. A little creepy so I promptly left the sauna and headed to the communal sleeping area and had a rather uncomfortable mornings sleep on a super hard floor that was set on an underfloor heating setting 50 degrees. A rather interesting experience but at least I had a safe place to sleep, I got to have a shower and I didn’t have to walk 15mins back to the subway the next morning in my kit from the night before in order to retrieve my bags from the subway!

Otherwise the only other two notable events worth mentioning are my trip to the Suwon wall which was pretty lovely and
Suwon FortressSuwon FortressSuwon Fortress

Walking up to the wall, Liz and Mike upahead
then two days before leaving for holiday we had a proper snow fall which was pretty novel. I had just gotten my new camera so I got to test drive it before departing for warmer temperatures.

Well that just about wraps up the last couple of weeks, as you gather they were pretty uneventful but this was all made up for in the weeks that followed!

Will post December antics as soon as I can get the typing done J





Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Suwon fortressSuwon fortress
Suwon fortress

Many a steap step to walk up before you get to the view, well worth it though!
Suwon fortressSuwon fortress
Suwon fortress

Looking back on Suwon while on the way up
Suwon FortressSuwon Fortress
Suwon Fortress

One of the 1st Pagodas.
Suwon FortressSuwon Fortress
Suwon Fortress

A hole in the wall!
Suwon FortressSuwon Fortress
Suwon Fortress

Atemoting to be a little creative...pitty I only had my cell camera!
Suwon FortressSuwon Fortress
Suwon Fortress

The stunning lead bell at the top of the fortress
Suwon fortressSuwon fortress
Suwon fortress

This bell is stunning, it has the most amazing carvings on it!
Suwon fortressSuwon fortress
Suwon fortress

Another amazing Korean Pagoda at the top of the portion we went to.
Suwon fortressSuwon fortress
Suwon fortress

Suwon at sunset!
Suwon fortressSuwon fortress
Suwon fortress

The view looking out from one of the vantage points along the wall
Suwon fortressSuwon fortress
Suwon fortress

It was so freezing Mike could have bitten hios fingers off and he wouldn't have felt the pain till the next day! Again it was worth brazing the cold for!
Incheon Snow Incheon Snow
Incheon Snow

Its quite cool experiencing your 1st proper snow fall. View from my window the night it snowed
Incheon SnowIncheon Snow
Incheon Snow

capturing a snow flake :-)
Incheon SnowIncheon Snow
Incheon Snow

Looking out of my window the next morning
Incheon Snow Incheon Snow
Incheon Snow

A little Christmas tree covered in snow
Incheon SnowIncheon Snow
Incheon Snow

My park the next morning
Incheon SnowIncheon Snow
Incheon Snow

The day before the snow
Incheon SnowIncheon Snow
Incheon Snow

The next morning!
Christmas Eve BirthdaysChristmas Eve Birthdays
Christmas Eve Birthdays

One of the little boys at school wearing a traditional Korean outfit
Chistmas Eve BirthdaysChistmas Eve Birthdays
Chistmas Eve Birthdays

Posing for his birthday picture...this happens for evey child on their birthday.
Christmas Eve BirthdaysChristmas Eve Birthdays
Christmas Eve Birthdays

one of the little girls posing for her photo wearing my reindeer horns


7th September 2009

question
hi there, nice post by the way. I wanted to visit Incheon and I am wondering if it really snows there? I want to experience the snow fall. What month does it usually snows there and how long? any websites for me t check out before i travel?

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.044s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb