The adventure begins.....


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
August 23rd 2008
Published: August 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Annyeong-haseyo from Korea!



Hello everyone and welcome to my travel blog.

I figured that this would be an easy way to keep in touch and will be adding my thoughts (or inane ramblings) whenever I feel there is something of significance to talk about. I invite you to have a look at any time you feel so inclined.

I don't really understand how these things work as I am no interwebologist but I think you can send me messages and at some stage I will try to add some pictures, although don't hold your breath on that because it would require me buying a camera and being bothered to take pictures which, as many of you know, is my ultimate pet peeve.

So now we know the system I should tell you how it’s going.

Following my whirlwind last few days at home and lots of shopping, packing and emotional goodbyes, I suddenly found myself sitting on a plane about to embark on the longest journey of my life and my first experience of a different continent. Despite being all alone and having no idea what awaited me at the other end, I wasn’t nervous, worried, or overawed. Instead, I felt relaxed, excited, and content at the thought of how many people went out of their way to wish me well and let me know that I’d be missed. Perhaps I needed to leave you all for a while to fully appreciate how lucky I am to have you?

Evidently I made it here safely and with minimal fuss, with the possible exception of the long wait at Incheon airport for someone to pick me up (never did get to the bottom of why they were late). It was a long and slightly uncomfortable journey made a lot more manageable by my being given a window seat right on the wing; it was almost like they knew me.

When I eventually arrived I was tired, bewildered and had no comprehension of time or even day (and still haven’t). It was probably a good hour and a half before I finally met my lift. She seemed friendly but spoke no English at all. This didn’t matter to me; I was just grateful that I wasn’t going to spend the whole year in the airport terminal eating crackers like Tom Hanks in that film. In my tired state I went to get in to the wrong side of the car and we nearly had an accident getting out of the car park. On top of that I had an hour’s car journey with someone I couldn’t speak to and guess what Michael…..it was only bloody raining!

In the end it was fine, that one. The lady, who I later established is the director at my school, decided she could break the ice by playing ABBA’s classic ‘Dancing Queen’…..it’s amazing how you can adapt your music tastes and bop to anything when you really need to! It was fun in a way.

It turned out that we were heading for the school in time to see the end of the school day (9pm). All of a sudden I was sitting in the staff room and meeting my new colleagues and some of the children. After school, I was taken out for dinner by the head teacher (who wasted no time in inviting me to her wedding in November) before I got shown to my apartment and went straight out with the other British guys to start the experience in earnest, inevitably by drinking…….



Advertisement



2nd November 2008

Your blog
hello dave we have been looking at your blog and found it very interesting and loved your pictures especially the of you and your "shadow" what a sweetie and thats just you! Glad to know you are enjoying yourself.super result yesterday dave and well done stoke!!We went to see ollies production last night of oliver and we really enjoyed it as usual.We look forward to your next blog/phone call as its always lovely to hear from you. Till then, take care love you lots nan + grandad p.s. Harry rules!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb