I made it!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
July 3rd 2008
Published: July 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, I made it!
*(For those of you who may not know, my Dad works for NWA and I fly standby... so it's always uncertain if I'll get on the flights I want.)

I got out on my first attempt to Tokyo, Japan (and in first class too!!!!). It was an 11 and a half hour flight, which was luckily made shorter by watching 3 movies, eating a LOT and taking a couple of naps. I also cought my first attempt at a connecting flight to Seoul, Korea, where my friend Juno was waiting for me. Juno studied abroad at Winona State my freshman year and said everyone was invited to come visit-- so here I am! I am staying at his parents house in Incheon, which is a suburb of Seoul. Their apartment is very modest and makes me think about how silly and unnecessary America's huge houses (and apartments!) can seem sometimes. His brother, June, is studying English but has been too shy to utter a single word. His mom is very nice and spent quite some time pressuring June to speak English to me (reminds me of my mom when I used to be shy about speaking Spanish). I wish I could communicate with her.

From the tiny bit of city I saw, it resembles most big cities. Lots of people, stores, food stands, buses and a subway line. The big difference being that all the business signs are lit up in bright colors and I couldn't take a wild guess at what the food they're selling out of their little carts actually is.

I currently feel crazy, because it's 12:30am on July 4th Korea time but 10:30am July 3rd USA time... confused? Imagine how my head feels! That's all I've got for now! In a couple of days I hope to have something actually exciting to write about.

Molly

Advertisement



5th July 2008

Yay!
Hey World Traveler, I'm glad you made it on the first attempt and didn't go to the wrong airport (Paris..). That must be exciting to see Juno. How is the language there? Do you hear a lot of English, or just Korean? I think you should pressure his brother to speak to you in English, because like you said, I am always pretty shy about speaking Spanish, but you could make it in a way that seems less intimidating. Do you and Juno have any plans yet? Like I said, I'm glad you made it and I will be checking your blog daily. I want to hear some good stories! Be safe and have fun.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb