flag day


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Incheon
June 14th 2005
Published: June 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

yeopchaggi for dongsengyeopchaggi for dongsengyeopchaggi for dongseng

After 7 months of tae kwan do training, i was rewarded with my 1st black belt. Unlike tattooes, this sport could be addictive to me (though perhaps more painful than the tattoo).
After two years on and off of life in South Korea, interspersed with wanderings, I'm off again to do something i hope to be meaningful.

During my time in the south of South Korea, i've been graced with good friends and abundant mountains to climb. For all considering Korea, i praise the mountains, the food, friends once you make them, and many incongruities. Beware of east versus west thinking conflicts, and materialism, and a rather high standard of living (though slight compared with Japan). Smog aside, Korea is where i have felt strongest and healthiest. The most beautiful place, for moi, is Geoje island, an island to the south of Busan. The most beautiful foods are any with "gochu" (hot pepper), "dooboo" (tofu), and many, many "banchan" (side-dishes, including Kimchi, the national sauerkraut).

Today, June 14th, is flag day, and my birthday.

A ferry from Incheon will take me to Qingdao, on the East coast of China, from where i'll bus or train my way west. Having already seen some of China's glorious highlights in previous travels, this time I will be bypassing the old goods. My aim is to learn what i can about current tibetan culture
Great Wall walllessGreat Wall walllessGreat Wall wallless

What you don't expect to see at China's Great Wall (from previous travels).
and where it is headed. I'll do this by joining with a volunteer organization, and by roaming around, eyes, ears and mind open.

Otherwise, plans are loose...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0698s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb