SNOW DAY!!!!!!!!!!!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangnam-do » Yangsan
March 11th 2010
Published: March 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We had a one-day winter wonderland in Yangsan this week and it resulted in a coveted snow day for the students and some lucky teachers! All week the forecast had been calling for snow on Wednesday but when I told my co-teacher she laughed and said that wouldn't happen. Well, imagine our surprise to wake up Wednesday morning to a city covered in a layer of snow! It was exciting and we prepared for school all the same, not thinking much of the snow, until we checked out Facebook (gotta love it!) and people were saying it was a snow day!! At first I didn't believe it, but when I called Sunny, she confirmed that indeed, no school for the kids and I should "stay home and relax". No telling me twice! So as I prepare to jump back in bed, Mike calls his co-teacher only to find out that he DOES have to go in, even though the students aren't there! Bah!

The funny thing about this snow day is that the last time it snowed in Yangsan was 2005. FIVE years ago! So it's no surprise that an inch of snow would shut down the city buses, taxis and schools!! However, it doesn't often snow here for a reason - it doesn't often get cold enough. And sure enough, by noon, the roads were completely dry and most of the snow had melted. I went for a walk and it felt so absurd that I was in the middle of a snow day!

Another thing we got a kick out of was the foreigners from non-snow places who were so excited to see snow! South Africans in particular, but even some Americans. One of our friends, Joan, a Korean-American said to me "I've waited my whole life for a day like this!" hahaha.

On a side note, that night we passed our test in Taekwondo and are now ORANGE belts!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb