Gyeongju Orientation


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangbuk-do » Gyeongju
February 21st 2010
Published: February 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

In front of the museumIn front of the museumIn front of the museum

With Luna (left) and Vicky (right)
We just got back from our homestay weekend. My family was the Kims from Gyeongju.
The father introduced me to dae gum, a korean wind instrument. He told me he was a beginner but he played very well in my opinion. He tried to explain the meaning of the song Arirang to me in English and he managed. I think I spoke to him the most and although his english and my korean were limited, we managed to get our points across. He was very interested in how to improve his english and remembered every english word I told him.
The mother is an amazing cook and her kimchee has to be the best I've ever had, every meal I had in their home was delicious. Yesterday at lunch we had ddukgook(rice cake soup) and ddukbokgi (rice cakes in spicy sauce) and japchae(glass noodles). Then a plate of fruit including pear, apple, persimmon and kiwi was laid out. Before I knew it it was snack time and we had cookies and roll cake with milk. We had a treat of ice cream at the tombs and dinner was bulgogi that had been softened up with a puree of kiwi.
Monster face tileMonster face tileMonster face tile

It belongs on the roof and the monster face is to ward off evil. AWESOME!
She also had this amazing kkaenip (sesame leaves) that she had seasoned with sesame oil, soy sauce and salt. So delicious. After dinner we had another round of fruit, and then some Korean popcorn and Yut. We finished off the night with sweet potatoes and hot tea. Yesterday she learned just how much I loved her kimchee so for breakfast we had kimchee jjigae (stew), kimchijun(pancakes), kimchee, and little tofu balls she had mixed with veggies and egg. Also she puts egg in her Jun which is new for me, I shall have to try it! For lunch they ordered pizza when they learned I love pizza (the pizza here sucks, it's sweet! :< ) and we had more Kimcheejun, and traditional noodles in broth and geembap. We had another round of fruit and this soft square rice powder mix that they told me had been deep fried and then covered in rice powder and then covered in rice. I can't remember the name but it was very soft and sweet.
The oldest of the children is Luna, she wants to be a History professor. She is quite an artist, she showed me her book and I thought her
Shilla tile with faceShilla tile with faceShilla tile with face

This is on display at the museum and I fell in love with it. Before I left the father picked me up one of my own from a souvenir shop. I love it!
watercolors were amazing until I saw the sketchbook with her pen drawings. Mostly it was anime characters but the intense detail in her drawings really took my breath away. Vicky is in middle school and although I felt she had a higher mastery of english than she let on, she was very shy and I didn't get to know her too well. The youngest is Kevin, when his father asked him what he and his classmates want in a teacher, he said "play lots of games and make learning fun." I'll have to keep a note of that. 😊

We are currently sequestered at Kolon Hotel for the next few days until we head off to our respective towns. -Mochi


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Shilla tile replicaShilla tile replica
Shilla tile replica

A replica the father had gotten from a high school teacher 27 years ago. He remembered he still ahd it when I mentioned my favorite thing about the museum and he brought it out.
At the MuseumAt the Museum
At the Museum

The Kims and me minus Kevin
ObservatoryObservatory
Observatory

I wanted to go inside!
Homestay fatherHomestay father
Homestay father

He is demostrating the song Arirang on his Dae Gum
Folk VillageFolk Village
Folk Village

A great day to be outside
KevinKevin
Kevin

Kevin posing in a tree at the Folk Village
Stray dogStray dog
Stray dog

This is the dog at the folk village that Kevin loved. He's hiding it but his nose is pink.


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb