Back in the ROK!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeonggi-do
September 6th 2012
Published: September 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Night TimeNight TimeNight Time

Overlooking the city on a moonlit night.
Well, I have finally made my way back to Korea. I was away an entire year, but as soon as I set foot in Incheon International Airport it felt as if I had only been gone for two weeks. My experience so far this time around has been pretty awesome! Honestly. Teaching English in Korea has its good and bad, believe me I’ve experienced some of the bad, but so far this time around I am very happy with my situation. However, I’m sure I will have some complaints as time goes by. But right now I am satisfied and happy.

My school and ownership have been really great. I was met on my first night in Korea by the owner/principal of my school at about 1030pm. She wanted to make sure I had everything I needed. Principal bought some food for my fridge, toiletries, and even cleaned the floor by hand because she was worried the floor would be dusty! So, from the moment I arrived back in Korea I felt cared for. It was quite nice reassuring.

I had a week of shadowing the teacher I was replacing. That week of shadowing was great because it gave
My KidsMy KidsMy Kids

This is Peter Pan Class (All kindergarten classes are named after Disney characters)
me the ability to overcome my jet lag quickly and get an initial handle on what my job would entail at my new school. During my first week I was able to get the grand tour of my school. It’s a pretty decent school. My classroom is HUGE compared to my last school. My classroom also has sinks and a bathroom attached to it. It’s a real room. It’s pretty awesome!

My afternoon classes are pretty good too. In the afternoon I teach elementary level kids. The classes are similar to my last school for the most part. A big difference is I don’t have to prepare ANY work. It’s all set up with a syllabus and work; I just have to teach it. Also, my working hours are a lot less. My longest day is similar to my shortest day last time around. And on Monday’s I am done at 4:00! All in all I’m pretty happy right now.

Now, I have been in Korea from almost two weeks. I’ve been into Seoul once and was able to meet up with some old friends. We went to our Lamb place for dinner, our LG Twins bar for some beers and to watch the Twins actually win for a change, and then to Noribang for some singing. It was a good time!!!

So, far so good… I hope to update this and Facebook as much as I can with pictures and posts about my adventures. Feel free to comment or ask questions. And, of course, I’m just a Skype call away! Until next time…


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb