Field Trip and Traditional Korean Day


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeonggi-do » Suji-gu
September 26th 2012
Published: September 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Plying in the SandPlying in the SandPlying in the Sand

My kids and I digging and building on the beach.
Like promised, here are some pictures of our field trip last weekend. To recap, we went to the Coal Museum, to the mud flats to catch crabs, and then to the beach. If you want to read more about it just check out my last entry…

Today was Traditional Korean Day at school. Because Chuseok (추석) is this weekend (a 5 day vacation for me) we had our festivities today. Since Chuseok(추석) is a formal, traditional family holiday in Korea, Koreans where a hanbok (한복) . Along with wearing a hanbok we had a few traditional Korean games that we played with the kids. It was awesome! I can’t remember all the names of the games but the pictures and their explanations explain it all. My favorite was the “hip wrestling.” Basically you and your opponent get on a mat, butt to butt, and try to push the other person out with your butt/hips. It was pretty cool and the kids loved it! My class went undefeated! Haha… We rock! J Anyways, here are the pictures.

Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

We Caught OneWe Caught One
We Caught One

My class actually caught a TON of crabs. Small mind you, but one of my girls, Elisabeth, caught 12 of them!
Coal Museum Coal Museum
Coal Museum

Here I am smashing small coal pieces together to make a larger, cylinder piece of coal. I demonstrated in front of a few classes. I was being silly so the kids ate it up! Haha...
My ClassMy Class
My Class

Our class picture in our Hanboks.
WaitingWaiting
Waiting

My kids waiting for the festivities to begin.
KickingKicking
Kicking

You kind of kick these little pom pom things like hacky sacks.
Make is in the BucketMake is in the Bucket
Make is in the Bucket

The kids had to throw their stick in to the buckets.
RaceRace
Race

This was a race where the kids had a small block of wood and with out using your hand had to get it to to other side. Once at the other side you had to knock over a larger piece of wood, still with out using your hands. First the small block of wood was on their shoulder, then under their chin and then on one of their feet.
Hop ScotchHop Scotch
Hop Scotch

Korean version on hop scotch. The kids throw a small pom pom on a number. The number it lands on you can use it while jumping.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb