Jeju-do and Everland


Advertisement
Published: October 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Coffee holderCoffee holderCoffee holder

As a coffee lover, I was enamored with this two coffee travel container with HANDLE. The coffee doesn't spill and is easy to carry---you think America would catch on to this invention.
Hello everyone, I thought I only had a few takers on this blog, but I have a few more than I thought and I thank you for reading it. I have gradually become quite busy. As part of my work, I am taking a course out of Harvard call "Teaching for Understanding." That meets on 2 Saturdays a month, plus two nights a week. We also go to church on Sat. (the English service is on Sat.) or go with the boys on a field trip. I have started to teach a class twice a week, I am planning lessons and help guiding teachers--so I have a lot on my plate. I'm glad that there is a bit of a routine developing. It is a refreshing change from working in American public schools.

Oct. 3rd was the Korean "Thanksgiving" and we had a week off. The boys did not want to leave school as they totally love hanging out with their school friends. Also, they had a soccer tournament--they were invited to play on the Japanese team. They didn't win, but everyone commented on Chris and Nick prowess on the soccer field. So, I fulfilled a dream of mine which was to go to Jeju island off the southern coast of Korea. Richard and I flew there which was an hour trip. We took public transportation to and from the airport and also once we got to the island. With my phrase book in hand--I even had a conversation with some senior citizens on the bus. Seniors are much more active here and many of them are interested in foreigners. It appears that the older people get, the brighter the colors they wear. Everyday we saw beautiful things in Jeju--it is a gorgeous place.

When we came back, I went with the boys to an amusement park called Everland which is a cross between Disneyland and Six Flags. I hung around with the girls--so the boys could enjoy being the guys. Chris is somewhat bugged that Richard and I go on the field trips, but Nick is fine with it and the other students are too. This park has a wooden roller coaster that has one of the longest drops in the world. It was incredible. They had a very cool bird show w/ hundreds of birds flying into an area as if they were para-sailing. (spelling?) Every week, the assistant dorm parent tells me what a good group of kids they have this year. So I am proud of my boys and the other students too.

I visited their school one day. It is a lot less "hands-on" learning than in the states, so sometimes it is a bit boring. Some of the stuff they had is review and some of it is challenging. They have a lot of memorization in Korean which is the style here of learning languages--that is a challenge.

Love you all, Kasia/Kath


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Buddhist TempleBuddhist Temple
Buddhist Temple

The turned around swastika is the symbol used on temples and signs--it certainly makes you do a double take.
Beach near our hotelBeach near our hotel
Beach near our hotel

Hamdoek beach w/ its emerald green water against black volcanic rock.
WaterfallWaterfall
Waterfall

One of the many beautiful waterfalls
Boat rideBoat ride
Boat ride

There are fishermen on these cliffs. They are dropped off by boat I guess.
Rock formationsRock formations
Rock formations

These almost perfectly square rock formations are found here and in Ireland. When the waves splash up to their height, it is magnificent.
Volcanic rocks & fieldsVolcanic rocks & fields
Volcanic rocks & fields

Taken on the bus trip to Sunrise peak.
Near Sunrise peakNear Sunrise peak
Near Sunrise peak

We noticed Koreans take pictures of beauty and move on. We took more time to soak in the beauty.
Near Sunrise peakNear Sunrise peak
Near Sunrise peak

These black rock look like formations in New Mexico except those are red. Here women dive w/o oxygen tanks--just holding their breath and fish. Some are in their 70s.
Part of Sunrise PeakPart of Sunrise Peak
Part of Sunrise Peak

These pictures are good, but can't do justice to Sunrise peak. There is a basin on top where we had breakfast after a 30-40 min. hike.
Nick & buddyNick & buddy
Nick & buddy

Nick doesn't want mom to take his picture--so i am always trying to catch that handsome face.
Foot placement for photoFoot placement for photo
Foot placement for photo

While waiting to get on the scariest roller coaster in the world, you can take your picture on a small platform complete with yellow feet to show you where to stand. Koreans take photos at every single opportunity.
Chris  & NickChris  & Nick
Chris & Nick

The assistant dorm leader is trying to get them to pose--no luck.
Check the nameCheck the name
Check the name

"Smell house" clothing store. Love the English usages such as "feel house" restaurant. "Ipis" energy drink. It's fun.


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb