As Time Goes By


Advertisement
Published: September 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello! I am officially missing my two boys--but I'm so glad I'm not far away. Last Friday, I went on a field trip with them to an big island at the mouth of the Han river. We climbed the large mountain there which only took a couple hours to go up, a pleasant 90 degree hike at times--almost 90 I'm sure. Most of the kids had no problem. I did have to rest alot. Then we got to see the 6th annual Asian song festival featuring pretty girl and boy bands from Thailand, Viet Nam, Indonesia and someone from Ukraine among others. It was an experience. We had VIP seats on the ground floor of the Olympic Stadium. I remembered the beautiful opening ceremony I watched on TV there. This event attracted families and many screaming girls.

I finally got to do some teaching this week. I will teach one class two days a week for the next three months. I am also taking a course put out by Harvard called "Teaching for Understanding". It is besides my regular work days--two nights a week and a few Sat. So I have a full plate.

We are taking care of
Chris, Andrew & JinChris, Andrew & JinChris, Andrew & Jin

On bus to Kangwha Island
someone's dog here. His name is Murry. Don't think I have a picture of him--next time. He's a character and a totally unashamed beggar. He eats literally everything--cucumbers and vegetables, uncooked noodles.

We are really enjoying our time here. We've had good and bad restaurant experiences, but recently more good and I found a great coffee shop--not too far away.

Love, to everyone, Take care Kasia


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Someone's ancient tombSomeone's ancient tomb
Someone's ancient tomb

The kids and us in front of this tomb. Don't know why they chose that rock formation and I forgot if it was a ruler or general's tomb. Sorry.
Stairs to the top of the mountainStairs to the top of the mountain
Stairs to the top of the mountain

Korean stairs, old or new, are often odd sized and the edge is not marked. Also, there are steep drops that are "protected" by one piece of rope. Exciting.
Yours truly at the topYours truly at the top
Yours truly at the top

Recorded evidence that we actually made it to the top.
View fr. the topView fr. the top
View fr. the top

Still not sure it was worth the climb.
Another viewAnother view
Another view

There was an old man at the top selling ice creams in two coolers. How he got them up there--I don't know.
air machineair machine
air machine

Used to clean off your shoes when you come down from the mountain.
Fortress Fortress
Fortress

Fortress at mouth of Han river to protect Korea from foreign invaders hundreds of years ago.
Got peppersGot peppers
Got peppers

Hot peppers displayed for buying at local market.
Bacon restaurantBacon restaurant
Bacon restaurant

Meat is quite expensive here and most Koreans have once or twice a week. Bacon (w/ tons of fat) is cooked at the table. Eaten w/ lettuce, garlic and a spicy sauce. Very tasty all together.
Everything is family styleEverything is family style
Everything is family style

Public women's bathroom with mommy and toddler toilets--everything is family style. (Just be thankful I didn't snap a picture of the toilet that you have to squat over.)


26th September 2009

Looks as if youre having fun!
Thank you for sharing your zezt for life with us cave-dwellers still at home tending the sheep. I enjoy reading your stories. Hi to Richard, also. Staffan

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1006s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb