Travelling Man


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Daegu
April 22nd 2007
Published: April 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

So it's been a while I know but life has been busy. School is getting hectic and we are going through a lot of tranistions right now. Things have been good for me lately. Two weeks ago I went to Jinhae for the Cherry Blossom Festival and last weekend I headed up near Seoul. The first night there we ended up in this huge night club (foreigners are usually not allowed in these places so it was extra special) it was equipt with "table girls" (like prostitutes for old businessmen) and a Vegas style stage show. The next day was pretty amazing, I ended up just outside of the Seoul City walking this incredibly picturesk river, possibly one of the most beautiful things I have seen in Korea so far. After the river tour we got some Viatnamese Food. I found out I love viatnemese food!

So anyway since we talked last I bought a bike, a guitar, and a fish. All of the following combined cost me under and all of which were entirally impulsive purchases. And here's the story behind each one. About two weeks ago I was walking home from my friend Jonny's and passed a bike store. The owner apparently loves foreigners. How do I know this you might ask? Well for one he was willing to sell me the bike for $40 and two he actually said "I LOVE AMERICANS" when I walked by. I think he had been practicing the line in the unlikely event that someday an American would be stumbling down an obscure side street. Anyway long story short, now I have a bike! It's one of those really cool collapsable ones that you can store away easily. It makes getting around so much easier, granted I've almost died twice on it, but whatever. I think next month I will get a scooter.

As for the guitar. I left work a few days ago and got the sudden inclination to stop at a thrift store on my way to meet a friend for some authentic hamburgers. When I walked in I immediately saw my new baby sitting right there in front of me. $30 dollars later I had myself a new obsession. She's beautiful and has a great harmony. I've been playing the hell out of her almost everyday since I picked her up.

On to the fish. Or as I have named him "Sammy" after my favorite Korean food - Sam Gip Sol (its like giant slices of bacon that you cook on a shovel and wrap in lettuce with some onions and bean paste. So yes essentially I've named my fish Bacon but he doesn't seem to mind.

All of these things plus a few pictures and house plants have really started to make my apartment feel like home. I've come to really enjoy my skyline view from my rooftop and I am slowly adjusting to this strange new world. Well I've got class again in a few. I swear I will write more soon. I miss everyone so much and I think that is my hardest burden right now. I am thinking I might come home for christmas. Oh and I swear I'll have the first round of postcards out tomorrow. So if you haven't given me you address yet please do! I finally found a post office!

Wishing everyone the best!

- Matt

Advertisement



6th May 2007

Thanks for the Offer
Thanks for the offer to help. I am usuing your offer right now. Is there a bus schedule on line (in English) that can help me around? I am not near a subway, and of course being female, and lost are not a good combination anywhere! I am in the Buk-gu area. I am going to use the bus today, to get to school. Hopefully I will not get lost.
14th May 2007

Bus Schedules and other information
Sorry for the delay on getting back to you but I think you might find this website helpful! http://sri2006.postech.ac.kr/useful/trans.php

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb