Homesick


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Daegu
March 25th 2007
Published: March 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

But I am still having a great time here. It's weird though, I feel so cut off from everyone back home and the longer I am here the further and further away I feel from everyone. I do want to thank everyone who has written me back, I love getting those emails, it brightens my day.

Well anyway back to the subject at hand. Korea is a crazy place, I've been here almost a month now and the time is flying by. I am making a ton of friends and everyday is a new experience. Last week at school was a little trying, I know now that I am not cut out to be a life-long elementary school teacher. I am not even sure I want to have children anymore :-) But the job isn't that hard and as long as I teach them a little english then my boss is happy.

This weekend was a lot of fun. Friday I went out for drinks with some of my coworkers which was a lot of fun and I was in bed by 10 pm a fact that I was pretty happy about. Then last night was my friend Michelle's birthday and what a night it was. Jonny through a party at his house and we had about 15 people come over. We all had a few drinks and then we lit off some Roman Candles on the roof and then headed downtown. Thats when things got a little out of hand for some of the group. I made friends with one of the bartenders named Tae, she was very cute and she ended up hanging out with me for most of the night. Side note, Korean girls named Tae are great kissers. Other side note -- I need to learn my phone number or atleast carry a pen with me because unfortunately I have absolutely no way of contacting her.

Today was a bit of a pain. I was the only one who wasnt hung over and that meant I spent most of my day waiting around for everyone to be functional. Finally around 6 everyone got together and we got some dinner. MMM Pig Spine Soup. It is actually very very delicious - a little hard to eat - but delicious all the same. And then everyone went home and I came here to write this lovely email and watch some tv. By the way if you ever find yourself in a foreign country and are missing some good ole American Television you should download TVU. It's great and free and has everything from fox to comedy central.

Tomorrow I am going to Japan to get my E2 visa. Hooray for no longer being a quasi-illegal alien. This is just one more adventure into the realm of things I have never done before. I am finally used to riding in taxis and catching trains, tomorrow will be my first day taking a ferry. I will also have to learn a whole new currency system the Yen. It's amazing how many things I have never had to do before that are no a daily ritual. This place is changing me, making me grow and learn. And most of all its helped me learn a lot about myself and to rediscover what it is to feel young and to have the world be all new again. Well thats about it for now. I will write more when I get back from Japan and send some pictures as well. I hope to hear from everybody soon and I hope everything is going well back in the States. Keep me posted and I'll return the favor. Much love!

Matt



Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb