AIR RAID


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Daegu
March 15th 2007
Published: March 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So today was the first time I actually realized there is a war going on, albeit a war that hasnt had a shot fired since the 50's. But all the same, we had an air drill today, where everyone had to run inside and all traffic came to a stand still. It was kind of surreal. Army men with yellow bands took the streets, directing traffic blowins whistles, all while airhorns rang in my ears. I kind of wish I had brought my camera to school today.

Anyway about halfway through yesterday I came down with what can only be described as the Plague of the Orient. Sore throat, headache, chills, and it was impossible to sleep last night. I am already feeling a bit better, but last night was absolute hell. I was having nightmares that for some reason I had to teach the kids at my house 24 hours aday, even when I was sleeping those bastards were there lol. Thank God it was only a dream!

In order to self medicate last night I went out and got Dukgalbi (chicken) in the spiciest form I could find. It definitely helped a little to clear up my sinuses. What really helped was the chicken and rice soup they serve as a side dish. It was seriously one of the most delicious things I have ever eaten! I took a few pictures of the dinner, as well as some roof top pictures of my house and my mountain. I know I've been promising them, but I havent made it to the PC room in a few days and the computers at my school dont want to recognize my camera. Oh well.

In other news I sould be getting internet at my house soon. So that will be fun, I'll have a little more lee-way as to when I get online and such. Even more random news I finally found a drycleaner near my house, and he's really cheap, so hooray for cleaned, pressed and starched shirts! And now to the extreme of non-sequitor observations, I found out the hard way last night that when you buy hotdogs in Korea they come with plastic wrapped around them. It is essential that one removes the plastic as it does melt when cooked and smells ridiculously bad!

Well with St. Patty's day just around the corner I want all you guys back home to cheers me with some Guiness, or some Jameson, or baileys -- if not all three together at once. Apparently in Seoul, Guiness is $20 a pint, so I probably wont be drinking much of it this weekend. And maybe if I learn how to order Jameson I'l be all over it but that's only if. I wish everyone the best, and I urge you to go eat some Mexican food, as that seems to be the only type of food I can not find around here! Who would have thought I'd miss it that much! I mean really I could seriously go for some tacos damnit!

I'll send more pictures soon, and I've already started my first set of handwritten letters, so expect those in a month or so. Much love to everyone!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb