Onyang Hot Springs


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Chungcheongnam-do » Asan-gun
March 8th 2009
Published: March 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

InsideInsideInside

I didn't take these...i took them off the website
I met up with Jamie on Sunday afternoon to go to the hot springs. We met on the plane ride over to Korea. I had to take the metro to the train station, which of course I went to the wrong train station the first time around. I got a train to Onyangoncheon. It takes an hour and a half to get there from the station. Round trip the tickets cost me 12,600KW which is a little over 8 dollars. Woo hoo! I kept asking people which train takes me to *points to ticket* "here" The only guy who helped me was the guy who I'm assuming was the janitor because he was putting toilet paper on the trains. He goes "ooh yes..here.." so i get on the train. He sees me agian and goes "no..no train" So there I was again on the platform hoping I could just get on a train. Another train pulls up like 20 minutes before my departure time. The same guy goes "train..yes!" So I got on it and another guy in a suit told me this was my train. It was so nervewracking though, I didn't have a train schedule so I didn't know
OutsideOutsideOutside

also off the website...there was a sauna outside too.
which stops went in which direction. I just hoped that an hour an a half from then I would see my stop. I couldn't fall asleep or do anything but stare down the stations as we went past them looking at whatever maps I had in my guide book. Eventually i saw a stop that I knew was in the right direction. Finally an hour and a half exactly and I got off at my stop.

Jaime got off her bus exactly when I got off the train so it worked out perfectly. We took a cab to the hot springs, which was literally around the corner, we just didn't know that. We walked in paid our 5,500kw and into the spa we went. We knew that it was like, a public bath so everyone would be nude (obviously men had their own and women had their own) but we weren't ready to walk around the corner and see 50 naked asians walking around. It was kind of akward in the beginning. We thought we'd ween into it with towels, but the towels were the size of handtowels, so they didn't do any good. So we walk into the area with all the pools and everyone just stares us down as we walk though, nothing like being the white chicks in the asian bath house.

We went to the outside bath first, which was so nice...it was cold outside, but the water was so warm. A little girl kept looking at me and then told her mom something... her mom goes "your eyes beautiful" And that made me smile, I like my eyes and it was cute that the little girl thought they were pretty. From there we went into the sauna. While we were sitting one of the older women touched jaime's boob and they all say something in korean and she looks at me smiling like "omg that lady just touched my boob" trying to say it through her teeth incase they spoke some english. She asked how old she was and we figure they were just like oh so young, bla bla bla. haha glad it was her and not me! heh

We went then to get some lunch and work out at the gym and then we went back into the spa. Everyone brought salts and exfoliators and we didnt...we didn't know. Oh well. We know for next time now. After our healthy day, we went to baskin robins for dinner haha i got chocolate truffle fudge ice cream. Delicious. And I only got two scoops. Will Power!

It was an interesting and relaxing experience. Next time I'd like to try going to one that is a bit more fancy. My train left at 8:44 and it came late and i was FREEZING! My ticket for the hour and a half ride was standing room only. So i just moved from seat to seat and moved when i was in someone's seat. So I didn't end up having to stand at all. There are no pictures or videos for this one because...well everyone was naked haha

The following week when I went to class, my Korean Language Teacher asked what everyone did over the weekend. When it was my turn I said Onyang Hot Springs. And she replies "Onyang Hot Springs? Really?? Onyang Hot Springs most famous in Korea" So, i suppose we chose the best one to start at!

Advertisement



11th April 2009

hi
I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don't know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often. Sarah http://grillsblog.com
12th April 2009

Hey thanks for the comments! Good to hear someone besides my family is reading up on my adventures haha Take Care!
24th August 2011

Hilarious
Hi I'm Tracie from Malaysia.I was so happened googling research for hotsprings in Korea and checked into your blog. Coz from the general appearance of this Onyang place it looks rather freaky dodgy to me, so I'm wondering if this a 'clean' spa means no hanky panky - like the usual for ASIANS men. hahaha But it was a hilarious story about this old lady molesting your friend. Lol! Good read...i sent this link to 2 of my girlfriends that i'll be travelling with. Im sure they will be having a good laugh too. Good Luck! :)
13th October 2011

Onyang Hot Springs
Hey Tracie! Thank you for commenting on my blog! I'm glad you found it useful. The Hot Springs were separated one for women and one for men so there was never a point where we were mixed. It was very clean and a very nice place! I would go back again anytime :) Good luck traveling!

Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb