Trouble sleeping.....


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
September 21st 2006
Published: September 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

So far this has been a really topsy turvy week, when it's been low it's been scraping the bottom of the barrel of low and when it's been high I could almost imagine I was a whole foot taller (well almost!). I think the trouble is the lack of sleep. I like sleeping; me and sleeping get on well. In the UK 8 hours sleep a night was normal and kept me my happy jovial little self- here I'm lucky if I scrape 5 hours and it's always broken. The hours of this job are so different to what I'm used to. I teach 7am-12 noon then have all afternoon off til 7-9pm. 'Cool' I think, all afternoon off to shop, eat, read, bloggity blog blog.... However by the time I finish my last class at 9pm I'm wide awake- I'm a night owl, I come awake at nighttime so trying to persuade my body that it needs to relax and get some kip in is proving problematic. I've tried it all- hot showers, exercise during the day, camomile tea, reading a book, red wine (the 1 pound screw top variety) all to no avail.
Its hard to regulate my mood and look on the bright side when I'm so flippin tired all the time, things are getting on top of me more than they would back home- add to that the obvious effects of culture shock and yeah, at times it's a struggle. The lowest point was Tuesday morning. The day started off badly due to an encounter with Limpy. Limpy is a Korean man (yep, you've guessed it- he has a limp) who I see about 3 times a week on the subway. I swear he has a radar for me, I do everything I can to avoid him but still he hunts me down. Our first conversation went something like this:

Linmpey: Ahhh hello how are you
Midget: Fine thank you
Limpy: Your hair look very beautiful today.
Midget: Thank you
Limpy: Your make up very beautiful today
Midget: Thank you
Limpy: Russia? Russia? (i.e are you a Russian prostitute who came to Busan to cater for all the Russian sailors?)
Midget: No
Limpy: Ahhhhhh. American?
Midget: No I'm English. EN-GER-LAND
Limpy: Ahhhhhhh. Do you have boyfriend?
Midget: Yes
Limpy: Who is boyfriend?
Midget: (pre prepared speech) He is called Frank(!) and he lives with me in Busan.
Limpy: How long boyfriend?
Midget: Ermmm, 6 months, yes 6 months.
Limpy: Korean boyfriend?
Midget: (What, with a name like Frank!) No no, English.
Limpy: Ahhhhhhhh. Pause....... Do you know Jesus?
Midget (Oh Jesus) No I don't know Jesus....

Every conversation we have is a variation on this theme. On Tuesday morning he thought it acceptable to have this conversation with me while I wasn't looking at him and listening to my mp3. This didn't deter Limpy, apparently a one sided conversation is ok (he must get used to it), if I look like I'm ignoring him he just pulls my headphones out of my ears and ask me the same questions he asks me everyday.Just what I need after 4 hours sleep. Apparently a 5 minute subway ride in peace and quiet is too much to ask.

So yeah a bad start. In my one hour break I then went and wrote a 'aargh this is pap I need support' email to those who would be able to help only for the computer to crash when I sent it. Limpy + evil computers+ lack of sleep = 2nd cry in Korea. Good job the coffee shop was empty.

However, the thing I've noticed about this place is when I'm really low things always turn around. That afternoon Joy, one of the Korean teachers, drove Will and I (in a car- weeeeee!!) to Teojongdae park which is by the sea with rocks, n sand n green and stuff. It was a gloriuos day, like a British summers day and being out of the city really lifted my spirits.

Pics will follow.....having technical difficulties (why can't u just plug it in and press go?! Sharon, Clare, Uncle Bry- I need you!!)

Advertisement



21st September 2006

x00„¬íÜ”
Have you told Mr Limpy to FUCK OFF!? might be worth a try if it doesn't send you squealing to the bottom of the hierarchy. To help you I have translated this beutiful gem of an English phrase into Korean for you: 'x00„¬íÜ”' So that should help you! PS I tried this to your personal messages but I'm not convinced it worked. Anyway... it was funnier second time round! Love Rebecca
21st September 2006

Oh Dear!
I'm sorry hun, but this did make me laugh, he's not an extra out of team America is he, maybe he is werryy werryy rowneree!! Mnnhh see the family trait of attracting all of the one legged, one cell amoeba's weirdo's is still going strong! I'm pleased to see that you have taken on at least one of my finer qualities! Typing a bit tricky, poured wine into the keyboard, approx 3 weeks ago, and strangeleee its not loving it still. I, Myself thought that was a very generous gesture! Squeak soon love ya lots Jooles x
23rd September 2006

Tis true- any weirdo within a 5 mile radius just gravitates towards me. All I need now is for a stray dog to befriend me and it really will be like home!
26th September 2006

mr limpy???
so very sorry about the Mr limpy gag, thought it would make you laugh, not to worry the british public will laugh like deranged hyena's when the see it on ant and dec's saturday night takeaway...

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb