Off we go!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
August 13th 2006
Published: August 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, Erika and I spent the last two days in hot, sticky Busan, where we were crammed into one little room that had 3 sets of bunk beds, 12 people using the bathroom and no a/c. A little cramped and hot! We were not that impressed by Busan, and are looking forward to our next few days in Jeju City on Jeju Island. We have a room in a motel tonight, but then move to a 3rd class hotel (or motel?) tomorrow for 3 nights that actually looks pretty good!

Yesterday we went down by the coast to see a lighthouse. I think that the distances that they indicate are wrong; they say 1km but actually it's more like 4km, especially since most of it is uphill and hot. We got out to the lighthouse, climbed on the rocks/cliffs (not that dangerous if you're careful -- think Peggy's Cove) and took lots of pictures. We managed to grab a cab for the return trip. 😊

Today we made it for a quick trip to the fortress. Actually, we didn't see the fortress, but we saw one gate. Pretty neat! We took the cable car up the mountain, but then had to climb for another 20-30 minutes. They said about 1km again, but I think it was more like 3-4. Maybe they mean miles???? In any case, times are definitely underestimated for us Westerners. I also think that Koreans walk more quickly and can climb better than we do. Or at least me!

We're currently in the airport getting ready to fly out to Jeju, and we saw this "Internet Lounge", so I thought I'd use it. (Actually it's just a block of 3 computers sitting out free for the using.) I think when we get to Jeju we're going to look into tours first thing. I'm very tired of walking, and if I can sit on a bus and get taken places, all the better!

Anyway, off to Jeju in about an hour!

Advertisement



13th August 2006

Hi Sue!!!
Are you still in one piece?
14th August 2006

Still in one piece!
Nathan: Yes, I'm still in one piece, though often I feel like I'm melting. My brain seem to be melting too, as there are often times that I don't notice things or can't remember something someone has told me. Maybe it's due to lack of sleep? Or just sheer exhaustion! We climb at least 100 steps every day (sometimes more!) and for a couple of nights it was so hot that sleeping was difficult. But yes, still in one piece! :D

Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1929s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb