Home Sweet Home


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
March 1st 2010
Published: March 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Apartment! 001Apartment! 001Apartment! 001

My first purchases.

And then there was one



So, we all had our presentations (my group struggled, but what can you do?) and then we had a fun little closing ceremony with dancing and traditional stuff. We also had a talent show which was pretty much amazing! Then we were shipped off to our destinations. Oh what a long trip it was. We had to carry all of our luggage around the campus and to the parking lot where the buses are. It was like 7:30 and we had to stay at the bus place to watch our stuff because all of our luggage wouldn't fit on the buses. So no breakfast for us.

Anyway, after the longest day in a long time, I got to meet my co-teacher (A.K.A. my baby-sitter). She is lovely. Her name is Hae-Ju and she is going to have a baby in 2 months. Which is great, except it means she's going to leave me soon. She took me to my apartment and took me out to dinner, and then she went home to her 3 year old daughter. I'm going to meet her at the subway tomorrow at 8:10 so that we can walk to
Apartment! 018Apartment! 018Apartment! 018

The view from the balcony thingy in my apartment.
school together.

My apartment is spectacular! Keep in mind, most of my friends have their washer in their bathroom and the shower is just the sink nozzle that they can raise up and put on a hook above the toilet. Also, a lot of them have single beds, no tv's, no microwave or toaster oven, a mini-fridge, or just a hotplate. And some of them live really far from the subway, or on the outskirts of town.

I have: a bathtub, a big bathroom, queen size bed, a big tv, a dvd player, a microwave, a toaster oven, a couch, my cable is already on with a few english channels (I'm watching How I met your Mother), and I'm close to a subway stop, and one stop away from a transfer station. The downsides to my apartment: as of now my gas is turned off, I can't work my heating (it may be off too), and I have to pay an extra 80,000 won a month for it. That's about 70 bucks or so. I can steal internet though, which will save me like 30 or 40 bucks a month. So yeah. There are good things and bad
Apartment! 007Apartment! 007Apartment! 007

My door. I've got a secret code, it's.....yeah, I'm not going to tell you.
things. But I still love it, and so do all of my friends!!

Speaking of friends 😊 I have made several. I've met up with people all weekend, and it's been nice. Some people came over and hung out at my apartment today and we met up with some others for dinner. I went out to a moon festival last night, which was fun...except I caught on fire for a second. There was a giant bonfire and it had lots of flying ash. A piece landed on my hair and scorched just a little bit off. It was pretty funny. It was only like a strand!

This post is a little nutty, but I have my first class tomorrow. I have no idea what to prepare. I asked my teacher and she said, "Just think about what you want to teach them."

Not particularly helpful. I don't have powerpoint so I can't do that. I need to get that program. I'm just going to put some pictures on a jumpdrive and take it in with a few emergency activities to do (name-tag making, interview games, question and answer, ect). But I think this week is mostly ceremonies
Apartment! 019Apartment! 019Apartment! 019

My T.V. It's bigger than it looks. We are having a movie night at my house next weekend. Pizza and a movie with my new friends. Good times.
or classes led by my co-teacher. I don't have a school book for them yet or know their curriculum yet...so. It's a little freaky. But that's how it works in Korea. Everything is last minute. So, wish me luck!

And enjoy the pictures of my apartment. :D


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Apartment! 008Apartment! 008
Apartment! 008

The view from the hallway.
Apartment! 020Apartment! 020
Apartment! 020

My couch, futon thing.
Apartment! 010Apartment! 010
Apartment! 010

My kitchen area.
Apartment! 011Apartment! 011
Apartment! 011

My toaster oven, I plan on making single servings of spicy potatoes
Apartment! 022Apartment! 022
Apartment! 022

All my books. The ones standing in the corner are the ones I brought, all the ones laying down are ones they gave me!!
Apartment! 012Apartment! 012
Apartment! 012

What could this be?
Apartment! 013Apartment! 013
Apartment! 013

It's a fridge!
Apartment! 024Apartment! 024
Apartment! 024

My bed :) I need to buy more blankets and get a matress pad and sheets. It'll do for now.
Apartment! 025Apartment! 025
Apartment! 025

My closets, closed.
Apartment! 014Apartment! 014
Apartment! 014

My beautiful, beautiful bathroom.
Apartment! 029Apartment! 029
Apartment! 029

My view. Much better at night!
Apartment! 016Apartment! 016
Apartment! 016

Bath tub. Apparently I'm going to need to install a turnstile to get to it. I've got lots of friends who are going to come use it.
Apartment! 031Apartment! 031
Apartment! 031

My super intimidating washing machine.


3rd March 2010

I'm so glad your apartment is nice and that you have already made lots of friends. I knew you would. Everybody loves our Heather.
30th March 2010

I love how your first purchase included 2L of coke...classic hehe <3 and your apartment is gorgeous, i really like the details on the fridge and the closets!

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb