Home Sweet Home


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
April 1st 2009
Published: April 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

WelcomeWelcomeWelcome

Annyeong haseyo!
Even though the domestic qualities of my cancer sun sign are supposed to be muted by all the leo and sag in my chart, true to my cancerean roots, I am kicking off my new blog with a tour of my Korean pad. Home sweet home. Enjoy!

Welcome- when you come in please take off your shoes. But don't worry about getting cold feet (figuratively or literally) even though I don't have a pair of guest slippers (yet). The floor is heated! So, we can hang on the straw mats and rugs that I intend to buy to adorn the wall-to-wall (and, in places, up the wall!) vinyl flooring. Time to get lo-lo-lo-low.

When you are checking out my lovely kitchen, you may wonder how someone towering at 5'9'' is supposed to use counters 32 inches (I measured) off the ground. Good question. I actually washed dishes on my knees the first day here. Since then I have resorted to slumping, which may cause me to develop a hump back if I stay in Asia long enough. Kitchen carts, where are you?! I am lost without IKEA ;..(

If this apartment is anything, it is vinyl floored. If
CountersCountersCounters

Gettin' low
it is anything else, it is big. (I'm not looking forward to paying the oil bill this winter.) And, I get all this- just for ME! HAHA! I even get a meditation/yoga/office/library. I am desperate to find a couch to put in here. Not as easy as it sounds. TBC.

On to the dinning room/hallway. I just don't know what to do with all this empty space. For starters, lots of rugs are needed to cover up the vinyl crap covering the floors... I am trying to be optimistic but pastel drawer liner on every square inch of floor is a real bummer.

Everything has been relatively tranquil until . . . What, you need to take a shower after your long flight? Whamo!!! Don't hit your head on the ceiling or fall in the toilet while scrubbin'! The bathroom is the scariest place in my apartment mainly because the water comes out of the tap scalding hot and then freezing cold in alternating cycles of about 2-3 minutes. (That is, after igniting the water heater 10 minutes prior.) Then, after another 20-25 minutes it comes to a good showering temp. No last minute showers before running out
Bathroom/Toilet/LaundryBathroom/Toilet/LaundryBathroom/Toilet/Laundry

Careful! Oh, and wear the slippers.
the door in this place. It's a lengthy (and slightly dangerous) procedure.

The bedroom is ridiculously large, which has made it double as a sort of living room. Well, its size and the fact that it has the only comfortable piece of furniture in the whole place, the bed. I have been using the kitchen table for meals but morning coffee happens at my desk in the bedroom as I listen to NPR and read email. (Since I don't have wireless in the apt I am somewhat linked to the desk.)

All the apartments here, including mine, have these sliding screens over the windows which I think are pretty neat. They enable you to keep your privacy and at the same time still let sunlight in. Or if you want a view of the electrical wires and mountains outside you can slide them open and peer through the glass.

Out there lies my newly adopted city for the year, Busan (also, Pusan). ^^

See the view out my window at







Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Meditation Room/OfficeMeditation Room/Office
Meditation Room/Office

Room seeks couch.
Hall/Dining AreaHall/Dining Area
Hall/Dining Area

Staring at a blank canvas
fridgefridge
fridge

Munch-kin-tchen
ScreenScreen
Screen

Daylight enters yet no one sees me! Genius.
My tiny bedMy tiny bed
My tiny bed

Did I mention Koreans don't use sheets?
Good morningGood morning
Good morning

A routine worth preserving
Armoire Extrordanaire Armoire Extrordanaire
Armoire Extrordanaire

I should have packed warmer clothes. It's freezing!


1st April 2009

Hmmmm
Looks cozy, yet austere. I think in no time you'll find beautiful things to embellish it in a style that is uniquely "Kim" At least it's yours alone, right? Love you! Kristin
1st April 2009

Sweeeet
Your floors make me giggle with delight! I imagine the heat coming through feels pretty awesome through the socks. The counters look a bit trying even for me! But it certainly looks spacious and cozy. I can't wait to get more updates! Hope you are well.
2nd April 2009

I've been thinking about you
and am glad you wrote. Your place reminds me, believe it or not, of an apartment I had in Germany 40 years ago...mostly in the amount of plastic commonly used...Please, when time allows, tell the story of how you went from thinking about teaching ESL abroad to being in - Busan, is it? May all go well, Love, Gail
2nd April 2009

howdy
My dear- Getting settled in Busan, with your own private apartment! With all the quirks of international living. :) I'm glad you are enjoying yourself what with the cherry blossoms and hyperactive kids you teach. Maybe you'll find an amazing resturant soon? Everything here is fine, still raining and cold. We started a happy hour club, but then coincedentally most of the members were at Tuesday night sitting at the center too. hugs, maya
2nd April 2009

Mirth, merriment, mayhem and monkeyshines
The bathroom could pose a huge problem if one were to come home a wee bit drunk and confuse the washing machine for the toilet. Be ever vigilant!! Love, Dad
2nd April 2009

pimp fort
I like your pimp fort!!! Rad decor!!! Those Koreans sure know their patterns. So when you shower, do you just stand there and hose down the whole room, or is there actually a stall? Is that nozzle for your butt?
2nd April 2009

i love it
i'm glad you arrived safe and sound. i love your travel blog and i love the pictures of your home. it's such a pleasure to see where you live. i can envision you in south korea doing your daily thing. keep updating! besitos sabrina
3rd April 2009

You just hose off yo'self along w/ the room. The floor is graded so that all the water runs into a drain in the center of all the action. The nozzle can work for butt (I assume) or any other part within reach... It's supposed to be a multi-purpose shower, I guess. I need to buy a longer hose so's I can stand up. I wanted to include Marjorita in my email, but she wasn't in my address book!
3rd April 2009

Restaurants will definitely get a post of their own (or 10)!
3rd April 2009

Are you the tallest person in Korea?
Kim Chi!!! Hahhhh you crack me up Kim! Oh I'm so excited to follow along on your adventures in Korea. I'm living vicariously through you.
4th April 2009

Que lindo!
Me encanto la idea de tu blog lo estare leyendo por seguro todo se ve ta acogedor, disfruta y gracias por compartir esto.
7th April 2009

Kim!!!
Thank you so much for sharing your adventures!

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb