Busan Part 2


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan » Geumjeongsan
September 23rd 2012
Published: September 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Yeongdo BridgeYeongdo BridgeYeongdo Bridge

Linking the island with the mainland
Well, I had great plans, and, true to form, didn't manage half of them!

I did go back to Jalgachi, but sadly didn't eat there. The market was absolutely heaving on a hot Sunday afternoon (and not all the fish were smelling hugely fresh either...), so it was move with the crowd or be trampled!

South of Busan, there is a small island called Yeongdo-gu, attached to the mainland by a few bridges just East of Jalgachi. The West of the island has a costal walkway called Jeoryeong, which I decided would be nice to visit.

Apparently, it's best to start at the beginning of the walkway, walk down the coast and then either double back or climb the stairs in the cliff face and catch the bus back down.

Being me, of course, I entirely missed the start of the walk and trekked up steep city streets until I reached what I realised was the END of the walking path, climbed down the steps and meandered (with aching legs) back to the start. Why make things easy, after all?

Fortunately, I was spared the long walk back across the bridge to my hotel by a
View from Jeoryeong Coastal WalkwayView from Jeoryeong Coastal WalkwayView from Jeoryeong Coastal Walkway

Once I'd finally found it.
handy bus route, which dropped me almost at the door.

After a quick rest, I headed out for a local and uneventful dinner before planning the next stage - winding back up to Seoul for my flight back on Thursday.

In all, then, I don't really feel I've done Busan justice. I will need to go back and look at things properly. But not this visit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb