Jeju Day 4


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeju » Jeju-si
September 22nd 2012
Published: September 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My final day in Jeju I spent in the capital city, Jeju-si. For the most part, I walked around the city, drinking in the sights and smells.

Just a small aside here to moan about the tourist maps in Korea. None of them are to scale so it is really, really hard to get a sense of how long going between two places on the map will take you. They hardly, if ever, give you the sodding street names - instead putting in random and rather useless landmarks (generally hotels, shopping centres or hospitals whose names in real life may, or then again may not, be in English). And they never NEVER give you the place in hangeul as well. So if you are, say, speaking to someone who can't read English (or Korean words written in the Latin alphabet - not that there is a consistent system for transcribing Korean sounds, which makes it all so much more interesting), or trying to work out a bus schedule (only ever given in hangeul), you better not think you can rely on your map.

I wonder why they bother giving them out.

Phew! rant over. Despite the handicap mentioned
Institute of Birthday studiesInstitute of Birthday studiesInstitute of Birthday studies

Totally CV-able, I reckon
above, I was able to find the market - not just fish but a selection of Jeju delicacies and tourist items as well - and the pier, with lovely views over the harbour.

I had a little walk then sat on the balcony of a coffee shop and drank in the sea air (along with a rather nice iced green tea chai).

I have really enjoyed my time on Jeju. Since tourism is such a huge industry here the people are extra nice and helpful (with interesting results where their English - and my Korean - is not quite up to the task). The scenery is stunning, all palm trees and sea views, with gorgeous sunsets in the West of the islands. (I can only guess that the sunrises must be equally spectactular...)

I hear that the weather can be a bit temperamental, but I got nothing but glorious sunshine, so I am definitely not complaining. All in all, somewhere to go back to.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Diving GranniesDiving Grannies
Diving Grannies

Jeju's legendary women divers


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb