Birthday Showers in Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
January 25th 2017
Published: January 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Many of you know how seriously I would take my birthday in years past. Celebrating the whole week, sometimes the whole month! My explanation was always that when I lived in NJ, my birthday party plans were contingent on the weather - is there a blizzard or not. Thus the reason I spread out the celebration over so many days - one of them had to be good weather and work. Everyone always thought this was "cute" way to justify getting extra birthday celebrations.

Well, I reached Singapore on 22nd January. Starting that evening it has rained - every day. For long periods of time and heavy at times. It is now 26 Jan (though today it is clear so far). Apparently this is not normal for January (maybe in December). So yeah it's a TP birthday phenomenon!

But even given that, I have had a fabulous time in Singapore.
#1 highlight - my hosts. Indian people in general tend to be "open up our homes" type of hosts. But my cousin and cousin-in-law are world class in hosting. They have a gazillion things going on their life right now and they took time to entertainment me, take me out and feed me. Seriously made me feel at home it was the best. My cousin also should be tour guide. Seriously, her art is amazing and she will continue to be an amazing artist. But her calling should be a tour guide. She is knowledgeable on not just on Singapore history and culture but all kinds of talking points of interest. Made me jealous that I didn't know nearly a quarter of history of US compared to what she knows after living in for only 6 years. She provided me with some of the best conversations I've had in a long time.
#2 highlight - people watching. Singapore seems to be a country where old White men come to hit on young Asian women (hit on is putting it nicely). Something very surreal about it and yet hysterical. And yes I got distracted and took some incognito pictures 😊
#3 highlight - the views. It is without a doubt a city. Singapore loves it's high buildings and city views without too much of the hustle. So you don't feel overly crowded.
#4 highlight - the food. Some of the best dim sum I've had was here. I have gone to places where it was known to be good and places that I have just come across and it was just fabulous. I'm determined know to find some quality dim sum when I come back to NC.

Tonight is my final night here and we are going to do it up nicely. Tomorrow I am off to Vietnam.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.323s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb