Touchdown !


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
August 19th 2013
Published: August 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well after 18 months of planning the day finally arrived. The only thing left to do is to get Clive to get us to the airport on time. One final thing to worry about bearing in mind Clive's timekeeping. However I needn't have been concerned as he got us there in plenty of time.



We'd like to thank all of those friends who took pity on us during our last two weeks and kept fattening us up in preparation for the trip.



We arrived at check in and just made the weight allowance, as did the luggage, so Christine's heels and dresses are coming too.



We didn't have to wait long before we were herded through the second class persons tunnel and onto the plane where we were shown into cattle class. Good job we're Hobbit size as anyone with legs would have had a problem.

I took my seat between Christine and a chap resembling Jasper Carrot. He kept his waterproof jacket on for the first four hours of the flight before he realised that although it rained in Singapore, it wasn't going to rain all the way there. However two hours later he put it back on, pulled up the hood and fitted a floatation pillow around his neck. Did he know something I didn't ?

I managed to stay awake for most of the flight and for this I would like to thank the little boy behind me for kicking me in the back every time I was about to nod off.

So finally after about 12 hours we landed at Changi airport. Bleary eyed and on wobbly legs we exited the airport to be met by a cloudy sky and humidity of a long shower.

We had finally arrived. Let the adventure begin. Look out Singapore and the rest of the world (well some of it) here we come !

Advertisement



20th August 2013

Arriving
Well done on your arrival in Singapore. Hope all goes well and onwards and upwards.
20th August 2013

Glad you\\\'ve arrived safely and looking forward to reading about your adventures. Hope the decking is complete for your return but I have my doubts given today\\\'s progress or lack of!!!! C x
20th August 2013

only 364 days to go!!!
20th August 2013

Glad you\\\'ve arrived safely and looking forward to reading about your adventures. Hope the decking is complete for your return but I have my doubts given today\\\'s progress or lack of!!!! C x
20th August 2013

only 364 days to go!!!
20th August 2013

Not much luggage for a year!
Glad you 'enjoyed' your first leg of the journey with Jasper Carrot. Only 364 days left so make the most of it. Have rung Raffles to warn them you're coming, enjoy the experience. C&Dx
21st August 2013

Raffles
Too late !! they didn't get the message as we went today.
21st August 2013

Au revoir & bon voyage
Hi Steve & Christine Well, if thats the standard of these blogs I look forward to the rest! I felt like I was in the seat next to you! Excellent stuff. Keep it up please. Enjoy. Love Deb xx
21st August 2013

Blogging
hi I'm pleased you enjoyed the first instalment, but I can't promise that they'll all be to that standard !
21st August 2013

Miss you already
Enjoyed reading your amusing story looking forward to the next page! Best wishes
27th August 2013

your adventure
Chris/Steve Hi Thanks for the blog update hilarious had a good laugh you should think about turning your adventure into a book glad you are having good experiences like your style enjoy catch up soon

Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0923s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb