Singapore...??


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
April 3rd 2006
Published: February 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Third Leg: Singapore


Little IndiaLittle IndiaLittle India

Not quite what I was expecting of Singapore...
Monday 3rd April 2006

My plan to spend three days or so in Singapore went out the window when I learnt the first valuable lesson of travelling - do what you want, not what you should! It meant a one day stop in Singapore before my flight onto Perth.

The journey was a bit mad as I’d decided to go from Puala Perhentians to Singapore in one stretch! It started with a boat from Kecil to Kuala Besut, taxi to the coach station - maybe Kota Baharu but the place name has disappeared from my head! - then on the overnight 12hr coach to Johor Baharu on the border with Singapore followed by a walk through border control then back on the bus and finally a taxi to the hostel! What a journey! - I think that was one of the long coach journeys seasoned backpackers talk/scare you about when you begin, luckily for me I can pretty much sleep anywhere if its moving so that was me sorted!!

The hostel... a 32 bed dorm!! Thank goodness only for one night!

I ended up staying in Little India - which isn’t what you’d typically associate with Singapore. It definitely wasn’t what I was expecting but I was happily surprised. It was so colourful and laid back.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

High Rise ColourHigh Rise Colour
High Rise Colour

Even the tower blocks are colourful!


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb