1 The Introduction


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
December 15th 2011
Published: December 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So I'm 45 days late in starting this blog, but as the saying goes better late than never right? I'm aware that some of you have probably spent the last few weeks in a state of panic, worrying over my whereabouts and health. Then there are the smart ones and the ones who know me best who would have just assumed that Bangkok had consumed me and I was just another victim to her cheap booze and seedy nightlife. Well... I got out, albeit via a night in Mission Hospital (see entry about that night in Bangkok). I'm currently in Singapore, which isn't exactly where I thought I'd start blogging from as life here is completely different to everything I have experienced so far. My journey so far has taken me from Bangkok to Siem Reap to Phnom Penh to Sihanoukville in Cambodia, then to Saigon to Mui Ne to Nha Trang to to Hoi An to Hue to Hanoi to Ha Long Bay in Vietnam, a brief sejour in Vang Vieng in Laos and finally to my current location. All in all about 5000km of travelling since I landed, 3000 of which were spent on 'sleeper buses', hurtling round pot-hole ridden roads and mostly in the black of night. I originally met Hayley and Lisa Turner in Bangkok and travelled through Cambodia with them, then travelled with two lads from Ipswich (sorry Millsy) - Dan and Callum- through Vietnam and into Laos. After punishing my liver for 5 weeks, culminating in the tubing experience, I booked a flight to Singapore to get some much needed recuperation and to visit Nick, one of my flatmate's from uni, and his family.
Now for my excuses into the lateness of this blog, well there's only one - I've been too busy having the time of my life! I even planned on having several entries done by now in Singapore, but I've found lots to do here too. Unfortunately Singapore is a lot more expensive than the rest of Asia so I'm trying to have a cheap day here and catch up on my internet biz. I haven't even had time to read much. Out of the 5 books I've bought, I've only managed about 50 pages in one. Rest assured that my copies of Nuts and Zoo have been thoroughly examined though.
I fully realise that severely retrospective blog entries will lack that current feel to it and may seem more like a timeline of events, but I have been taking notes along the way so hopefully you will be able to experience my accounts, blow by blow. I'm also going to go against everything I believe in and update the blog I what might seem a random order. That is writing current entries whilst catching you up on previous ones. Just thinking about it is making me feel nauseous, but I've devised a complex numbering system which will appease the OCD and hopefully allow the blog to be read in some order if/when finished. I will probably tinker with said system throughout the duration of this blog but I realise that the only people who will care about this are myself and Robyn.I'm not entirely sure what I'm trying to get out of the blog. I guess it's a lot easier than emailing individual people and a chance to force my news onto those who haven't bothered to email me. Anyways I hope you enjoy it and for those that are travelling too I will try to name and shame as many guest houses/bars as I can remember for you.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb