Singapore Slings


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
March 24th 2005
Published: March 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Raffles HotelRaffles HotelRaffles Hotel

Anyone for Tiffin ?
As this is the third and last time I have come through Singapore on my current travels I think it is about time I wrote about it.

Singapore is a fantastic place and its pseudonym as the city of tomorrow is very well deserved, from the incredibly clean streets to the efficient MRT (Mass Rapid Transit) subway system to the futuristic Changi international airport. I now understand why the statue of Sir Thomas Raffles, the man who made the island into a bastion for the British Empire looks so smug, and quite rightly so…. Good work Tommy !

This last time I visited I initially stayed in the Little India district for a couple of days in a 20 bed shared dormitory which turned out to be a lot better than it sounds, and as Singapore is mostly a transit place for most travelers I was able to meet and quiz others coming down from Thailand and Malaysia (my next destinations) while also giving advice about my time in Oz and New Zealand. Unfortunately as I was in Little India at the weekend I missed out on the promotional ‘fish head curry’ although I have been eating increasingly spicier
Fish head curry, mmmmm.Fish head curry, mmmmm.Fish head curry, mmmmm.

Dam, if only I had got here on Thursday !
local food as apparently the more chilies and garlic you eat is inversely proportional to your attractiveness to mosquitoes and other blood sucking insects.
Fron Little India I then moved onto the Chinatown district for a couple of days to experience the other side of Singaporean culture before leaving for my travels into and up Malaysia.

Oh yes, no trip to Singapore would be complete without a visit to the classic and very upmarket Raffles hotel, and although I didn’t make it for Tiffin in the afternoon I did however get fully spammed up and called in at night for a couple of drinks in the Bar & Billiards Room.

Chin Chin.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Sir Thomas RafflesSir Thomas Raffles
Sir Thomas Raffles

Smug... but quite rightly so !


Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb