Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
May 13th 2006
Published: May 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

S'poreS'poreS'pore

Singapore botanical gardens

Singapore



So this is my last stop in Asia. It feels like I have come full circle. I started in Hong Kong and finished in Singapore. Both are almost western cities but still have the Asia edge.
Even more than Hong Kong, Singapore is an 'All Asian cocktail'. I guess it's an easy introduction to people who never came to Asia. You get to see some of the typical aspects of Asian societies and you get it in a very clean and well organised environment. Too bad it doesn't have the 'Asian prices'.

Hanging around here for a couple of days was a good to way to wrap up my Asia travels. Since I won't be seeing many more in the near future and despite the overdose of temples I had the last months, I went to visit one last Buddhist temple, Chinese temple, Mosque and Hindu temple. I also checked out the Asian civilisations museum and recognised a lot of things from the last 4 months.
But what I liked the most about Singapore is the food. I've been eating so much. I found back almost all my favourite dishes from all over SEA.

Singapore is
S'poreS'poreS'pore

Orchid gardens
also known as the 'nanny state'. 'Order and Progress' have been the key words for politics in this country. Very strict regulations to make sure the country keep prospering... Even though the policy has been relaxed a bit the last 5 years, there is still a whole lot of strange rules (and heavy fines if the rules are not followed). Did you know chewing gum is illegal in Singapore? Eating or drinking (even water) on public transport, costs about 250 euro. Spitting in public will cost you about 300 euros. Littering and smoking in public places will cost about 500 euros (good!). My hostel too had all these little rules I had never heard of anywhere else.
It does make Singapore very safe. I heard that people put their mobile phones on a seat to reserve it while they go get their lunch at the counter.

Bye Bye Asia



Tonight I will take a flight to Darwin (Oz) and start part 2 of my travels. Even though I had been running out of steam in Malaysia, I'm a bit sad to leave Asia behind now. I really love this place and I missed out on some very nice
S'poreS'poreS'pore

CBD Central Business District
countries around here. But I have a feeling I'll be back some time.

I will miss the smiling and friendly people. I'll miss my 'fried noodles and vagetables' (sic), the fruit shakes and pancakes and all the great Indian food. I will also miss the interesting conversations: Q. "Hello sir! Where you from?' A. "I'm fine, thank you".
I'll miss the 'funny English' and will have to start speaking 'normal' (sort of) English again.

Up next Ozzzz!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

S'poreS'pore
S'pore

Theaters on the bay esplanade
S'poreS'pore
S'pore

'The Chop sticks' war memorial
S'poreS'pore
S'pore

Colonial vs Modern S'pore
S'poreS'pore
S'pore

CBD Central Business District


14th May 2006

Singapore
Hoi Jan, Vanop de foto's is fit inderdaad typisch Aziƫ: een ontzettend contrast tussen het 'traditionele' en het 'moderne' landschap & het 'rustgevende' en het 'gejaagde' leven ... De combinatie van Darmin en Oz, ontgaat ons echter een beetje ... Darwin, was dit niet diegene die aan de oorsprong stond van de evolutieleer ? En Oz ? Is dit dan de wereldberoemde 'Wizard of Oz' ? Als we ons niet vergissen heeft zelfs popicoon Wacko Jacko zelfs nog iets uitgespookt met the Wizard of Oz ... OK, toegegeven: Wacko Jacko verdient ook een plaatsje in de evolutieleer van Darwin. Zodoende is het plaatje misschien rond ... :) Andy & Lena
29th May 2006

Welcome
Dag Jan, ik kan begrijpen dat je wat triestig bent als je zuidoost Azie verlaat maar......................Welcome in Oz. hope to hear from you soon, but more importantly see you soon.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb