Singapore Slings


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
March 11th 2011
Published: March 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so I wasn't up as early as I'd liked but made the most of the fifty metre pool outside Dai's apartment. Once showered and dressed I decided I was going to do The Raffles Hotel. Dai had said there was little point as it was a very touristy thing to do but I couldn't resist as I never knew if I'd be here again. I headed to the MRT and worked out my route to Esplanade, the closest station. As I exited the MRT I bumped into an English couple who were also trying to find The Raffles. They were over visiting their son, but had been equally confused by the many conflicting signs pointing in many different directions. As I'd already discovered the Singaporeans had designed their tube network to emerge in shopping centres and the underground walkways below the roads were no different. This made it quite confusing as many of the shops were replicated at least twice.

The hotel had a very colonial feel surrounded by tall palms and green ferns. Everything the guide books had said were true, it was a piece of colonial Britain that hadn't changed since it was first built in 1899 and was now set against a backdrop of towering skyscrapers rather that were more synonymous with the country. I found the Long Bar and entered into an atmosphere from a bygone age. A proper bar with brass foot runner, green topped lamps hovering above the bar and wicker backed chairs around glass topped tables. I seated myself at the bar and ordered what the place was famous for, a 'Singapore Sling'. It arrived moments later in it's own signature branded glass, complete with pineapple chunk and maraschino cherry!  It was 2.30pm but I thought screw it, I don't have to be anywhere or be doing anything! I recalled Sian telling me, before I left, that the shells from the complimentary peanuts on the bar were expected to be deposited on the floor. Sure enough, at my feet were piles of discarded peanut shells. It was bizarre and as I sat there giggling to myself I felt a little sad that I had no-one to share this unique experience with...so I ordered another one to help deal with it! It wasn't the cheapest drink at S$25 before service and tax, but worth it for something as genuinely funny as this.

I got back on the MRT and headed towards China Town with a view to getting a late lunch. It truly was China Town as I got off the MRT. All if the little eccentricities to Singapore's tube system had been changed and given a Chinese feel from the signage to the decor. I was greater by yet another mall at the exit, but this time it was very different. No big designer brands here, but instead a plethora of street vendors selling baked goods, takeaway style food and raw food to cook at home. There was even a McChicken Teppanyaki burger at the local McDonalds...genius! The mall itself was full if shops selling Chinese silks, jade ornaments and Chinese herbalists and acupuncturists.

I walked along Smith Street taking in the many different smells from the Chinese, Vietnamese and Thai restaurants. After doing a little circuit I finally settled on a small stall and ordered chicken, prawn and bean-sprout stir fry. It was cooked in seconds, not the tastiest meal I'd had, but it served a purpose.

After a little wonder it was time to head back to base, so I hopped on the MRT for Orchard road. I got off a couple of stops early as I decided to walk back along to the ION centre. I was still taken aback by the fact it was do quiet in comparison to India for such a large city state. It was so lush and green amongst the towering skyscrapers it felt really surreal and manufactured. I had learnt that Singapore had been entirely marsh land and jungle before they had started building and reclaiming land from the sea. I popped into the visitors centre for advice on my onward journey to Kuala Lumpur. A coach would only take five hours and cost only S$30...bargain!

I met back up with Dai and we headed out to one of the many local restaurants for a bite to eat before we went to paint the town red. We had a bizarre thing called a 'Soup Bowl'. It was a gas fired stove type thing in the centre of the table with a circular BBQ around the outside of it and a bowl in the middle. Into the bowl wad placed some Schwann flavoured water and the idea was to grab what you wanted from the buffet, make your own soup by chucking it into the bowl and boiling it to death while you BBQ'd the other things on the surrounding hot plate. I had already eaten too much today, and felt uncomfortably full so offering me and all you can eat buffet was probably not the best thing, but I soldiered on regardless! It was great, plenty of different meats, vegetables and sauces made into your very own Chinese meal...the waddle home afterwards was much needed!

We were washed, changed and sipping vodka and grape juice on the balcony by 9.30pm before heading out. Not knowing quite what to expect of a night out in Singapore, it was certainly going to be interesting. 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb