A rainy day


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
May 5th 2006
Published: May 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Downtown lunch breakDowntown lunch breakDowntown lunch break

This is a park in downtown Singapore, a nice to place to take a break.
The week has flown by! Now it is time to see as much of the sights as I can this weekend. I spent the last few days working and did not really go out except to eat, which is the #1 Singaporean pastime from what I've seen. It's no wonder with variety of foods brought together by the mix of cultures here. I enjoyed a meal with Mei Yuen, a WDA staff person last night. She introduced me to more local food and I had a chance to have my first real conversation with a Singaporean. She mentioned that a person who visits Singapore will be asked "what have you eaten" as opposed to "where have you visited" because food is so important. I believe it, any place that sells food is always busy. It amazes me because everyone here is so thin (and many have very nice shoes).

I took a few photos on my lunch break yesterday. Finally!

The ever-elusive Fred the Gecko made another appearance last night but I couldn't get to my camera fast enough. Soon...








Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Waterfront pictures Waterfront pictures
Waterfront pictures

Finally, I can see the water! The spray off the lion water fountain was surprising but refreshing.
Time to eatTime to eat
Time to eat

A food court stand - not your typical Taco Time/New York Fries type of place. There is cuisine from India, China, Malaysia, Japan etc.


5th May 2006

Where are all the people
The parks and eating areas look great and clean but I don't see many people bustling around. All is well here and the weather has greatly improved. 24 today is expected high. Love Dad
8th May 2006

food
Thanks for the pics Marcela. Wondering what the local food is? Have fun and stay SAFE! Wish I was there.
8th May 2006

Sorry
The OILERS lost tonight. I am cheering for them as I want a western canadian team to win. Not sure I convince Neil to do the same! LOl
8th May 2006

Singlish-la
Have you picked up on the Singlish habit of adding La to the end of english words? It's kind of funny.

Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb