Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
July 15th 2009
Published: July 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I checked out of my hostel (Base Christchurch) and headed to the airport on friday (10th July). Unfortunately there was a problem refueling the plane which meant we were sat on the ground for 2 hours, before setting off over the amazing Southern Alps of New Zealand. The delay meant that I missed my connecting flight from Sydney to Singapore, I was rushed through Sydney airport by the nice lady from Qantas (felt like a VIP) and put on a plane to Brisbane. When I arrived in Brisbane the pilot informed us that the train between the domestic and international terminals stoped at 8pm, we arrived at 8.03pm. Luckily I met a really nice couple on the plane who lived in Brisbane and they kindly gave me a lift between the terminals, saving me about $25 on a taxi (roughly $25 more than I had at the time). From Brisbane I then was put on a Singapore Airlines flight to Singapore, they are a really good airline, they have the best orange juice of all the airlines I've been on! I ended up getting into Singapore at about 6am on the Saturday morning, so lost a night in Singapore but it wasn't the end of the world. Meant I actually saved money cos the underground (MRT) was then open so I got that to my hostel.

Got a few hours sleep when I got to the hostel (the InnCrowd Backpackers) then had a wander round Singapore. Went to the Colonial District, where the government buildings are and the famous Raffles Hotel, and walked down Orchard Road, the shopping district with immense shopping malls full of things I couldn't afford. Went out to check out the nightlife on the saturday night, it was pretty cool, Clarke Quay was rocking, but so expensive, a pint cost S$17 (about 8 quid), so it was a very sober night! Sunday (12th July) was my last day travelling, I went to Sentosa, a small island off the south of the city, which has pretty much been turned into a big tourist attraction, with rides, shows and man made beaches. It was pretty nice, just chilled out on the beach most of the day. Then got the super efficient, clean and cheap MRT back to the hostel and then to the airport to fly home. Best airport ever aswell complete free internet, movie threatre, gym and rooftop swimming pool (not that i used it!).

Arrived home 7am Monday the 13th of July into Heathrow airport, flying home on the huge new double decker A380 plane. Now I'm back home and it feels like nothing has changed! I had an awesome time on my travels and meet some great friends. I can't quite decide where my favourite place was. Thailand was so differrent to Western nations, with temples everywhere, street food vendors and everything so cheap. Australia had the classic sun, beaches and surf. Wheras New Zealand had the fantastic scenery, snow topped mountains and the awesome kiwi experience bus. New Zealand probably comes out on top, with Thailand then Australia close behind. It's back to reality now tho! Thanks for reading.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb