Dont get Ruffled at Ruffles


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
March 6th 2009
Published: March 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My second day in Singapore started a little later then anticipated but hey - it’s a holiday. I headed out to the Raffles hotel in search of my Singapore Sling - they say no trip to Singapore is complete with out this ritual. After a wander round the gardens I find the famous long bar - though from what I heard it has actually moved about 4 times - so does that mean that its not actually the bar and just a replica?

I was greeted by the manager - and I asked to be seated at the bar - it has to be the bar not a table for the complete experience ….. He didn’t need to be a mind reader to know what I was going to ask for - Singapore Sling Madam - oh yes please…..
Look around - everyone is drinking them - u see the odd beer here and there but its SS. I watched a guy in his early 20’s arrive and take a hidden table and order his SS - see it just has to be done.

Once the drink arrives the fun really starts - I look down to see peanut shells every where. So its true - people do throw them on the floor. I thought na I cant do that - as I went to put my rubbish on the bar - it felt wrong - you have to drop it on the floor there is no other way. While getting somewhat merry with my drink I met a Canadian couple and then an Australian also there for their Singpore slings. Oh they don’t give you the glass by the way - that you have to buy….. for $27 you would think they would…. I wonder how many people have sneaked a glass into their bags over the years…

After my drink I wandered around the grounds, Raffles just cries out in old English colonialism.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.017s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb