Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
October 1st 2008
Published: October 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Aaargh! There's people eveywhere!

I went for a walk around Singapore today. First, I walked down to the Asian Civilisations Museum, passing Raffles hotel and the harbour. The museum is really good, there's lots of different galleries for different parts of Asia, I had a look through the ones relating to Singapore and a quick look at the others and then went for a coffee on the harbour to prepare myself for the masses of people I was sure to encounter in Chinatown. I couldn't face walking all the way through Chinatown so I stopped for lunch at one of the first restaurants I came to. It was nice and not too busy inside.

After lunch, I walked back to the hostel to rest by the airconditioner for a while! Then I caught a bus to the Singapore Botanic Gardens and went to the National Orchid Garden. I saw the Vanda Miss Joaquim, Singapore's national flower amd the Celebrity Orchid Garden, where Jackie Chan has a flower! When it started to get dark I went to catch the bus back to Little India and bought an ice-cream biscuit from a hawker stall for $2.

I met a swedish
The National Orchid GardenThe National Orchid GardenThe National Orchid Garden

Vanda Miss Joaquim, Singapore's national flower.
girl called Christina at the hostel when I got back and we went to get dinner together in Little India. We had a really nice meal at one of the roadside restaurants. Little India's lovely, there's lots of colourful street decorations and fairy lights but we didn't walk any further after dinner because it was starting to rain.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Singpore Botanic GardensSingpore Botanic Gardens
Singpore Botanic Gardens

A couple having wedding photos taken of them behind a waterfall.


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb