Are we there yet!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
December 5th 2005
Published: December 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey All,

Well I'm here I've arrived in Singapore. They say the first thing you notice about Singapore is how clean it is. Well I have to agree the place is very clean, however, the first thing I noticed was the dodgy carpet in the airport that look like some curtains me Nan had when I was younger. Considering that Singapore airport is regarded as one of the best in the world it wasn't a good first impression. However as you move through and out of the airport you do start to notice why this airport is one of the best.

At the airport I had a choice get at taxi for 15$ or get on the MRT system for $2.50 and attempt to find my hostel. Well not that I'm a cheapskate I opted for a mini adventure and took the MRT. Needless to say I got lost - Not a good start to the world tour but hey at least I saved $11 :-)

I managed to find the hostel and got settled in. Within short period I'd got to know some of the people I would be staying with and a few of us headed out for something to eat. The hostel is in Little India so it was only right that we went for an Indian. Sunday is the local Indians day off and the area is packed with people on the pavements. Aroma's come from every direction and is matched with variety of colours on display. The food was fantastic and not like you get in the Indian's back home a lot more flavour and not as hot. I tried something new but I can't tell you what it was called as I can't prounce the name of it. But it was a mix of Yought, Potato, Curreied Peas and someother bits and pieces that where then fried. Look it tasted better that it sounds!

Following our meal we went back to the hostel where some drinking games kicked in. You could tell who the Brits where! When the bar shut those still standing headed onto another local bar that has a big Native American Indian aboive the door - Think they got the concept of little India wrong. But hey who's complaing. Where there till 3.00am which was great for those involved but less so for the other people in our Dorm room who I think I managed to wake up for a variety of reasons when I got in.

The next morning a little rough from the night before, four of us headed down to Sentosa which is Singapore's answer to the Pleasure Beach but without the big rides. I have a go on the Luge, which was great until I forgot to break into a turn and ended up the embankment.

Following my ace driving skills we head onto a nature walk which turns out to be pants! At the end is the Earth Dragon who has been a sleep for years. I have my photo taken there and as I step off I turn my ankle. My lucks in as it's not that bad - that would have been a good one been here a day and have to go home with a broken leg - doh!!

Well thats about it for day one (I feel like I'm on reality show - "It's day one in the hostel and what has rob been up too?")

Next Blog to Include Night Safari & Sharks and the rest of singapore.


Advertisement



6th December 2005

Day One
Read your first blog, but didn't add a comment as I thought I'd best wait until you actually left England. Pleased that you got to Singapore ... it sounds colourful!! I get the feeling that the "Adventures of Bob" may involve quite a few drinking games along the way. Take care of yourself ... Matt keeps shouting something about ladyboys - be careful!! Look forward to the next update from the diary room!
6th December 2005

Who said women have no sense of direction? Knew it wouldn't take you too long to integrate yourself.
6th December 2005

Nice to hear from you
Glad you arrived safely.BOLTON got watford in cup now waiting for further adventures of smileybob

Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb