A Brief Interlude


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
April 29th 2008
Published: April 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

Apparently my little blogs have become quite popular reading, so here's another. I'm safely in Singapore, having taken a swift flight from Bangkok this morning. I recommend Cathay Pacific - nicest plane I've ever flown in. So much room! It's the evening now, but it's still damned hot here; I'm only just north of the Equator on this little island. Frankly, I'm feeling tired and still rather ill from an attack of the Bangkok belly, so I'm taking it easy tonight and going exploring tomorrow. I'm in a nice little hostel on the edge of town (thankfully, the town's not too big), run by a very pleasant little man named Yang, who likes Mr Bean and uses a toilet as both his desk chair and a handy storage device for official documents. I've had a little look around the area; it's just a residential bit really, but I'm next to the metro station and the food hawkers.

So, it's goodbye to Thailnd and the Thailandics. I've had a fantastic time there, in spite of a few mishaps. Bangkok's a little yuck after being up north; dirty, noisy and full of tourists. What with being ill and cleverly locking myself out of my account for a day, I haven't done so much. I had a quick look at the Grand Palace, but balked at the entrance fee. I've seen enough temples to last me a lifetime. Also couldn't see the Art Gallery, as they close it on mondays. Who has mondays off? So, instead, here's a list of things that I've done for the first time in Thailand:

- Eaten dog, buffalo, snake, lizard, grasshopper and the notorious stinky durian fruit.

- Showered in waterfalls.

- Hiked through a jungle and up a mountain.

- Ridden on the back of a motorbike.

- Done some building work (me, manual labour, can you imagine it?)

- Smoked flavoured tobacco from one of those big shish things.

- Sat out a storm in a rickety bamboo hut.

- Picked cherries from coffee plants on the slope of a mountain.

- Ridden and fed an elephant.

- Crashed a wedding.

- Snogged a ladyboy.

- Chopped, carried and cleaned bamboo.

- Chatted with a monk.

Not so bad for two weeks, don't you agree?




Dan x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb