Singapore Stopover


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
March 15th 2008
Published: March 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Arrived safely in Singapore after a smooth 10 hour flight. I even got about 5 hours sleep on the plane.
I'd forgotten how hot it can be in this part of the world! With 12 hours to kill, I refreshed my memory of the MRT (metro) and went to Orchard road for a coffee. Only in Singapore can you get from the airport to the centre of town quickly and for only $1.90!
After coffee and a window shop in Orchard Road, the heart of Singapore's shopping, I wandered round Fort Canning, one of the touristy things I didn't do last time I was here. They have a great spice garden that has heaps of plants and samples of the spices that come from them. Yum!
Off to Little India for a beautiful vegetarian lunch and to admire all the sari silk on sale. And of course Chinatown for more window shopping and a much needed foot massage - bliss after loads of walking round in the heat.
I loved Singapore last time Dave and I were here, and nothing has changed. It's fantastic place with such contrasts within such a small space, and doesn't deserve the 'boring' reputation it has been given.
Sorry, no photos yet, can't upload from these computers. I'll get some up as soon as I can!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb