Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
August 30th 2007
Published: September 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After the adventures of Indonesia, I have a couple of days in Singapore before I leave Asia. I stay in a hostel in Little India, an area which has all the aromas and sights and sounds of India but without the smelliness and ugliness and noisiness of “real” India. However, despite being an ultra-clean version of India, it is actually the scruffiest part of Singapore. Singapore is a spotless, modern city with a quality of life comparable to Western Europe.

I arrive on a Sunday afternoon and, after feasting on a tosai masala (a south Indian speciality) I head down to the marina to enjoy the weekend water sports and music festival that is being held there. The following day I check out the business part of the city and go for a meeting for a potential job.

I like Singapore. According to the local media, the city has loosened up a lot in the past couple of years to further attract business and workers and tourists. I realise that it maybe not the most fun backpacker place to hang out and so I understand why friends that have visited Singapore may not have liked it too much.


But as a place to live I think it could be interesting….


Advertisement



Tot: 0.403s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb