Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
May 19th 2007
Published: May 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I only spent 4 nights in Singapore but thoroughly enjoyed the city. It was a stark contrast to Indonesia and the taxi from the airport to the city traveled much faster than any car in Indonesia and on infinitely superior roads. It was the night of the FA Cup final and unfortunately I missed the first half due to a late landing. The problem was that the landing gear wouldn't come down, quite a serious problem. I caught the second half and it was probably a good thing that I wasn't able to watch the whole match as drinks prices were ridiculous.

I spent a lot of time in shopping malls escaping the sweltering heat. I also went to the cinema a few times but I did have time to see many of the colonial buildings such as Raffles Hotel and the delightful Emerald Hill neighborhood. Chinatown and Little India for fun to wander around and very atmospheric. The quayside entertainment districts were a good viewpoint for people watching and admiring the river. I caught some of a dragon boat festival, I was amazed how excited people got over rowing.

Food was generally good in Singapore, with the best being found in the many food centres housing countless different Indian, Chinese and Malay food stalls.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb