Singapore Bling


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
December 27th 2006
Published: February 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Singapore waterfrontSingapore waterfrontSingapore waterfront

The thing in the foreground is The Merlion: part King of the Jungle, part fish. Genius!
Singapore for the festive season. Christmas lunch at Raffles: damn the expense! That was the plan decided in October when I was relatively rich. It was now December 24th and there I was on a soggy Orchard Road fighting my way through the hoards of fellow shoppers in an attempt to find some clothes suitable for the posh hotel. To make matters worse the torrential rain was not to the liking of my sandals and I was slipping and sliding like Frank Spencer.

There was a general pattern to my shopping: after much searching I would find something that I liked only to find they wouldn’t have it in my size (curse my elongated western frame). In the end I managed to settle on something appropriate but I gave up on any smart footwear: I would have to attend the famous hotel in trainers. I’m sure they wouldn’t mind.

We arrived nice an early for the champagne lunch that Dan’s friends Verity and Dazza had arranged. Everyone else was wearing suits (the men anyway). I did my best to stand behind things and hide my casual footwear. We mingled amongst the other dinner guests and did our best to consume as much free champagne as was publicly decent. Lunch was supremely decadent (lobsters, oysters; fish in general) and the conversation made a pleasant change from the usual hostel interrogation. It was really quite nice to be amongst family and friends, even if I didn’t know them. It was all very Christmassy.

After dessert the secret Santa gifts were handed out. Dan received a miniature Zen garden whilst I unwrapped a statuette of the Merlion ( Singapore’s famous half lion-half fish sculpture that squats on the harbour side and vomits water). In general: well up to the usual standard of Christmas gifts.

With the meal over several of us headed to Equinox Bar, a drinking hole situated on the 70th floor of a downtown skyscraper, for yet more champagne. After this dizzying party experience we headed to Harry’s Bar; Nick Leeson’s old haunt. No-one went up to Dan to ask him if he was the infamous Rogue Trader but I suppose they didn’t recognise him with his new beard and glasses. A pre-planned disguise? From then the night was a bit of a blur but I’m pretty sure everyone had a great time.

The following day Dan and I went to The National Museum which had people attached to ropes dangling from the ceiling; some kind of capital punishment, no-doubt. Singapore does seem quite keen on this. As for summing up the exhibition on Singapore’s history: thorough is the word. Very, very thorough.

Dan decided to head off to KL a day early as he was missing Abby. I missed Abby too but not in the same way as Dan did, so I stayed behind in Singapore to visit “The BattleBox”. Alas, not a robot fighting arena but the HQ for military operations during the Japanese invasion. It was quite a fascinating place and inhabited by animatronic mannequins that all bore more than a passing resemblance to a young prince Phillip.

The next day I followed Dan to Malaysia, but that’s another blog. If I can be bothered to write it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Dancing madnessDancing madness
Dancing madness

Not sure what all this was about. The National Museum of Singapore.
Dancing madnessDancing madness
Dancing madness

Now more of them are at it!


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb