The cable car, the subway and the 5000 Indian guys!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Sentosa Island
August 7th 2005
Published: August 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I went on the cable car today, to just sit back and get a good view.

God, I need to get off my feet already!

It was really lovely, just before sunset, over the water.

It's still really hot, so there was a bit of a breeze that made it nice.

The cars actually go really fast - I was surprised.

I took a few nice water, cruise ship, Sentosa island and Singapore skyline photos.

I went from Mount Faber, past Harbourfront to Sentosa.
On the way back, I just went to Harbourfront, as it's easier to get home from there.

Speaking of that, the MRT (subway) here is excellent by the way.
I haven't braved the buses yet, but there's not really any need to.
Ive had a good time with the transport so far - subways, the train and the taxis.
The MRT is all in English, is always clearly signed and on all the maps, has location guides at each station and is cheap and regular to boot.

Harbourfront is interesting on its own too, on the way out of Sentosa today.
There are lots of cruises out of here,
The cable car over to Sentosa IslandThe cable car over to Sentosa IslandThe cable car over to Sentosa Island

Ahead you can see the Merlion statue of Sentosa Island over to the left, plus the foliage of the island.
so lots of tourist shops, information centres, and cafes like where I'm writing this.
I finally went to an information centre, and got some more ideas and got information on the National Day celebrations.
I can't go in the padang - its a ballot of citizens - fair enough, but i can see the fly bys, they seem to be practicing - you can't miss them, and the fireworks, concerts etc.

Just on the quickest aside,
the metallic purple Hyundai Getz is really popular here too!!

Oh and the other crazy thing I was going to mention along with this, today on the walk home from the station I went a quicker way I found, and I had to share a street with like 5000 Indian guys.

I still don't know why they congregate there.
It is not the prostitution street, it is not the "forum" area, which I will mention again later, but that's where guys congregate to talk about where to find the best prostitutes, and it's nothing else I can think of.

I was suprisingly comfortable walking through thousands of Indian guys watching me, with no other females around of any kind... and I just remember laughing at myself, cause - at this time when, a few years ago I would have squirmed and most likely turned back - I walked on thinking, "God, I don't even look my best."


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



9th August 2005

Yay to the purple Hyundai!!!
10th August 2005

Great, love Singapore, Ive been there myself. Enjoy.

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1106s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb