No jacket required


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Little India
June 2nd 2008
Published: June 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Singapore

Melbourne to Singapore

ChinatownChinatownChinatown

Aerial view frm the bridge of Chinatown
Well after an early winter back home in Oz. I was greeted Thursday afternoon by a hot and sticky Singapore summer. Each afternoon we are also greeted with an unexpected thunder storm, so loud it sounds as if the sky is breaking.

Sinapore is a densley populated city. Shops and apartment blocks. There is so many places to eat, you can get very hungary trying to decided where to eat! I was staying in Little India, a vegetairans paradise. Actually the whole of Singapore was a vegetarians paradise. I ate tofu almost 3 times a day! And you can buy soya and tofu everywhere, well where its Chinese. They have a chain called "Mr Bean" and you can buy flavoured tofu, flavoured soya drinks and all sorts of soya stuff. So not only was i eating it, I was drinking it as well!

Because Singapore is mainly made up of Chinese, Indian, Malay and Arbaic cultures, you can imagine the selection of food available. I would go back, just for the food! And also it's so cheap, you can eat dinner for $3!!

Propbably the best part of my time there was meeting Kevin and Dave. Kevin was
Singapore SlingSingapore SlingSingapore Sling

Dave and I enjoying our Singapore Slings
from Holland and Dave is a crazy Scot. David is the best story teller I have ever met, and also one of the funniest guys ever but full of surprises about himself. He has had the most amazing trip with the craziest expereinces one could ever have. And i can still hear him telling me the story about Thailand in the girl voice he uses! Very funny stuff!

They took me to the Swiss Hotel which has a bar on the 70th floor with a view of the whole of Singapore. Much better view than the Singapore flyer which is the largest Ferris Wheel in the world, I beleive.

The drinks were overly expensive, actually after happy hour which we were not aware was over or even on, i had the most expensive glass of champagne ever, $16 dollars plus service charges and tax. Oh yeah did I enjoy it!!

Dave and I also got to experience the famous Singapore sling. Don't know whats in it, but its the signature cocktail of Singapore. And ours came served on a wooden Lion holder.

Our big night ended at a bar called "The Clinic" of unfortunately Dave has
Shopping Mall FountainShopping Mall FountainShopping Mall Fountain

Kids enjoying the fountain
all the un PC photo's! Lets just say theis bizare place has IV drinks with alcohol and also old school wheel chairs you can sit in at your table. And lets just say Dave and I really enjoyed taking pictures in the Wheelchairs!!

My last big stop was a trip to the Shuang Lin Monastery. This is the oldest temple in Singapore. We had a guided tour by an anthropologist who told us some very interesting facts about the monastery and Singapore social culture. Though if I tell you I may have to kill you!

So i am now in sunny Warsaw, Poland and hopefully have some cool pics and stories too!





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Shuang Lin MonasteryShuang Lin Monastery
Shuang Lin Monastery

Me, outside one of the oldest temples in Singapore
Singapore FlyerSingapore Flyer
Singapore Flyer

Arty phot of the Ferris Wheel, Singapore flyer. Nice but 30mins way too long!
Arabic districtArabic district
Arabic district

Signs of english colonisation. Arabic district was so cosy and beautiful
Vegetarian heavenVegetarian heaven
Vegetarian heaven

Hmm yummy, soya drink.
Scary crabScary crab
Scary crab

Aah, I can't believe people eat these!
Clarke KeyClarke Key
Clarke Key

Beautiful spot of restaurants and bars next to the Singapore river. Scary storm approaching....
Indian treatsIndian treats
Indian treats

Yum, indian deserts. Though most of them made from fried sugar etc. Not very healthy....
Kevin & DaveKevin & Dave
Kevin & Dave

Kevin & Dave at the Swiss Hotel, view of Singapore at night.


3rd June 2008

OMG
THOSE GUYS ARE HOT..LOL I AM GLAD YOU HAVE MADE IT TO POLAND. JUST SHOWED THE KIDS WHERE YOU ARE AND BEK'S SAID YOU LOOK LIKE YOU ARE HAVING FUN!!! I THINK SHE IS RIGHT.... STAY SAFE AND HAVE FUN SARAH, JAMES, BEKS AND HARRY
4th June 2008

Legend
Sounds aweosme legend. Have a great time mate and make the most of every opportunity.
5th June 2008

Hotties...
Ah Bridge.... I knew I could count on you to meet two hotties so soon into your trip! So glad you are having a great time. Keep the Blog updates coming when you can. I hope Poland is as beautiful as you remember! Lots of love Bron xx
7th June 2008

Sausage dog heaven
THanks Bron. I have some cool pics of the supreme court in Warsaw i will put in my nxt blog. The polish guys are pretty cute, though i haven't met any. as i am hanging with my dude friends it's not so easy but i will leave warsaw monday or tuesday so who knows what will happen. Also you need to tell Adam this as well. There are so many sausge dogs here! i have to stop everytime i see one. I tied to pat one the other day and he barked at me, but i will meet some more soon for sure. I am more in love with them then ever. And that guy wit long hair from the pic, Dave was the funniest guy i have ever met. You would be on the floor if you met him! I will email propery soon! xxoo

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb