The Beginning: Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Geylang
June 16th 2010
Published: June 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The MerlionThe MerlionThe Merlion

This lion-fish statue is the icon of Singapore tourism. Yeah, your guess is as good as mine.
Alright, time to actually write something here. As you might know, I'm back on the road again after living in Australia for three years. I can't believe I've been in that one country for such a long time. I did love it there, but life was getting far too ordinary and both of us were ready to move on. Also, the Visa situation was getting expensive and far too difficult for it to be worth us sorting something out.

Anyways...the rough plan is for a few months travelling through south east asia, followed by Japan. Of course this time I will have to drag a crazy Japanese girl along with me. Yumi is probably more excited than I am to travel around. So far we spent a few days in Singapore, then the last week or so in Malaysia. We're also planning to spend time in Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam. Also I would like to take a look into going to Myanmar ("You most likely know it as Myanmar, but it will always be Burma to me."). Then going to Japan, meeting Nairb in Okinawa and travelling over land and sea to Tokyo. After an undetermined amount of time
YumiYumiYumi

The obligatory picture of Yumi sitting on a statue
there, It will be back to Canada. probably.

As for Singapore, I wasn't expecting a whole lot. I heard from others that it was expensive and bland. This is half true, but there is still enough going on that I would like to visit again. It seemed cheap to us compared to living in Australia, but it is 3-4 times more expensive than Malaysia and the rest of the countries we are visiting. Best part of the visit by far is the food. Our hotel was in a suburb called Geylong, which is far enough removed from the city center that it actually feels like a south east asian country. The streets are covered by hawker stalls with the best food. The average meal costs 3-4$.

The city itself is impressive but sterile. The government has fully cracked down on any antisocial behavior with a harsh criminal justice system. Even littering and spitting leads to huge fines. It is probaby the cleanest and safest city I have ever seen. You can pretty much walk anywhere in the airconditioned underground and it feels like you are in a never ending shopping mall. We took the city tour to see a few of the sights. checked out the asian civilization museum, which was great, and ate plenty of amazing meals. Other than that, nothing else really stands out in the memory for Singapore. Just I really can't say enough about how good the food was. Pretty much any foreign restaurant chain you can imagine has set up shop here as well, including plenty I haven't seen since leaving Canada. I am not ashamed to admit that i had my first DQ blizzard and quiznos sandwich in more than 3 years. Sweet nostalgia.

Just did a proofread and realized how boring Singapore actually was. The blog should start getting more interesting next chance when i start to write about Malaysia, which has been amazing. Anyways, hope you enjoy reading these, It's really nice to get the comments and messages too, i know there are lots of people I haven't had any contact with in far too long of a time.

Until next time...




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

''
'

I am a master of blending in with local cultures
Whopper barWhopper bar
Whopper bar

There are plenty of fine drinking estalishments, notable amongst them is the BK Whopper Bar.
Fountain of WealthFountain of Wealth
Fountain of Wealth

This is the biggest fountain in the world apparently???
The Tourist BusThe Tourist Bus
The Tourist Bus

Exciting!!!


16th June 2010

So, Singapore is boring.
Well Brian, I could do with a little boredom if it involved Singapore. Right now, my main circle involves Safeway, Costco and our back yard. Sigh.. Enjoy. Love AK
16th June 2010

Sweet nostalgia
Hey little cuz (but only a little bit little), It sounds like you and your lovely lady are out for some adventure!! I am so excited for you! As I was reading this entry I remembered what it was like living in Turkey and going to Istanbul where there was a McDonalds. Having a Happy Meal after 9 months of Turkish food was enough to bring tears to my eyes...so I cannot imagine what it must be like to have a blizzard after three years!!! Not that I am a DQ regular. But you know what I mean. Well, I can't wait to hear more about your travels so hurry up the updates! Then come home to Canada and bring that crazy Japanese girl. I want to meet her!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Alllison has been raving about how amazing Yumi is! Plus, it will be so nice to see you after all these years. Take care, little cuz...and keep us updated!!! Jacquelyn
17th June 2010

Brian: it is good to see you are on the road again. It is your natural element. Take care and enjoy!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb