Asia Diary - Day 10 - Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Chinatown
March 5th 2011
Published: March 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Agreed to have a sleep in this morning, so we were up at 8:30am FFS. I was having a dream about some choir and then woke up a bit realising I could still hear a school choir. I woke up fully to work out where the sound was coming from, next door maybe? Then I worked out it was Nads snoring – sounded just like a school choir. I then had to check in the morning whether I had already told her, as I had had two subsequent dreams where I had told her and one where she had replied that I had already told her.
Got a local breakfast of scrambled eggs and toast which was surprising nice and expensive. Did a bit of shopping until everyone was bored, then we got split up and Nads, Elli and I went to Raffles for a drink (that was expensive). Took a photo of Nads with her arm in a sling – har, har, har.
Walked through a small China town and ended up and an electronics mega mall (6 storeys) that was surprisingly disappointing. Did buy a shaver and a telephoto lens though and had a decent local cheap meal from the food court. Tried to find a little roadside pub to watch the daily thunderstorm, but couldn’t. Got stuck in a boring mall while it rained. Stood in a huge queue for a taxi while I was looking across the road at a little streetside pub that would have been perfect.
Came back to the hotel to try and find the others watch a crap movie (Reality Bites) and catch up on diary.
Went out for Dinner at Clarke Pier to an Indonesian restaurant. Was OK, except the service kept on getting the orders wrong, but they corrected very well by bringing out new dishes or forgetting to charge Heather and I for our second beer. Saw lots of sites around the place, bungy, extreme swing, laser lights off the ship hotel, led helicopters and other funky stuff. Had one beer at the big pub on the way home while the others were deciding whether to have chocolate (didn’t). Pinched a rock from the garden as I thought this would be the only chance I would have to get a stone from Singapore.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

TampopoTampopo
Tampopo

See the film, you'll understand


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb