Is yesterday, tomorrow today?! Jetlag?


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Changi
May 11th 2011
Published: May 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So - on the plane and I had to laugh to myself at the announcement "G'day Ladies and Gentlemen, this is your captain speaking..." Listening to that, it's finally sunk in that I am actually on my way to Australia! The time at the airport seemed to fly by. Baggage drop and check in was quick and it was great to have a sit down and eat with Dinah and Bailey ( I hope the M25 wasn't too bad for you 2 on the way home) At departures, I got the usual pat down at security- don't know how I always manage to set the alarm off- and set out to do a bit of shopping to bring something British to the Brits I'm visiting in Oz. I got a tea towel, a London Christmas tree decoration, some London bus tea coasters and chocolate biscuits from Harrods (did feel a bit of an idiot buying all this to be honest).
After saying my goodbyes and boarding the flight, the take off was seamless - in fact I thought we were still taxi-ing ( but that could just be because I'm blonde)! I sat in a window seat, a woman in the aisle seat and no one in the middle- fabulous! Really hope I get to stretch out and have some sleep. Got given a menu which looks fab, so can't wait to eat, then will probably watch a film- of which there are about a hundred to choose from. Am loving it so far and this is only and hour into the Qantas flight!

Whilst eating I watched Slumdog Millionnaire- as I said, loads of films to choose from but I always liked this one and it reminded me of reading the book in Vegas a couple of years ago. I fell asleep for a while and woke up at the end of the film, and really didn't think I'd fall asleep again, dispute taking some kalms, I was wide awake. I read for a bit and in 1 of the magazines it said about a new film coming out called Red Hill. I'd seen this in the film choice so thought id give it a whirl. Didn't last long and I was soon asleep again. It was fab there was no one sitting next to me, and I made the most of it by spreading out, and slept until about 0815 uk time.

God knows what I must have looked like when I woke and sat up with a pillow creased face and hair stuck up all over the place- ah well! Definitely needed a leg stretch now so went for a wander around and brushed my teeth before breakfast which was quite nice. The is a little girl somewhere on the flight who was singing "wheels on the bus" which reminded me of Isabelle. I can't wait to tell her stories of my travels when she is a bit older.

Just over kuala Lumpur, the captain announced that we were starting our decent into Singapore. A hot, and humid 32*c at C airport. Awaiting further info on connecting flights. Leg 1 almost done and dusted.

Had roughly 3 hours to kill at Singapore. On landing it was very dull and rainy looking, but when I went outside onto the rooftop garden, I almost evaporated- very very humid! I checked my emails quickly at a free terminal and got some chicken and noodles to eat ( for some reason I couldn't stop thinking about sigapore noodles!) it was very nice. Bought a couple of postcards and a magnet and text a couple of people- namely Charlie to let him know everything was so far on time for him picking me up the next day. He text back saying he was freezing at an outdoor cinema- just how cold is it in OZ?
Boarding the second flight I was scanned and my bags swabbed ( for what I've no idea) the captain announced there was a bit of a queue for take off so we had a little wait- in which time I fell asleep. I was glad really, I just wanted to get as much sleep as possible- do not want jet lag ruining the first few days!
This loan was smaller and the films etc not as vast as on the first leg so apart from  the rest of that red hill film an episode of Glee, didn't really watch anything (and could have easily not bothered with either of those!)
as I write, I am 21 minutes away from landing in Brisbane. As I was filling out the immigration card, I looked up to see the most amazing sunrise. Looking above the aircraft wing, the sky was a brilliant deep purply blue, whilst below along the horizon, it burned orange and red. I tried to take a picture but it wouldn't do it justice.

It is now 0620 local time and I have been travelling for almost 24 hours. I'm a bit confused as to what day it is to be honest!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb